Irving, NY to Erie, PA: - Atlantic NorEaster - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2012

Irving, NY to Erie, PA:

Back in the state of our birth!

We were going southwest, the wind was from the North, the route was a designated bicycle route with a great shoulder and the weather was pleasantly cool. For a cyclist it doesn't get much better. But, there's more! Our Comfort Inn is clean and has a good wi-fi signal, so we both are happy.

For much of the day we rode on bicycle route 517. Not only was it signed we usually had a shoulder all to ourselves.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We were in grape growing country for most of the day. I saw a sign indicating at least some of the grapes were sold to Welches.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We had frequent glimpses of Lake Erie throughout the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Suddenly the quality of the road surface deteriorated.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yep, we're back in Pennsylvania.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We are now getting a lot of sun throughout the day. Earlier in the tour when heading east and north I burned the right side of my body. Now, heading west, the left side is burning. Being light skinned with freckles, the sun is not my friend.

e both wear Keene cycling sandals. We need shoes that will dry out in less than three days after rainstorms. Because some of the skin on our feet is exposed we end up with interesting patterns
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think my sunburn is dark until I compare to sun worshiping Rhona.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our leg tans are severe also. Rhona gets a little sun damage even through her lycra shorts
Heart 0 Comment 0
There is a gap on the back of my cycling gloves which results in a tan brand. It will take months before it fades away completely. Rhona stopped wearing gloves two weeks ago to avoid "unsightly" tan spots. I have so many scars, burns, bumps and blemishes I don't need to worry about anything on my body becoming unsightly. It already is. My scars are tremendously entertaining to the grandkids. I wonder how they will like the new and improved version.
Heart 0 Comment 0
All through the city of Erie we saw frog statues painted in different styles and fashions depending on the type of business or facility. We presume it is some kind of citywide art promotion theme. This one honored "Rosie the Riveter".
Heart 0 Comment 0
A Veteran's Memorial at an historic lighthouse in Dunkirk.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 1,750 miles (2,816 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0