The rabbits are largely harmless: Poncin - Geneva (Switzerland) - Say hi to the elephants, and hope the weather improves - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2012

The rabbits are largely harmless: Poncin - Geneva (Switzerland)

The dangers of crossing the road as Steph is passing... In fact, the lads were basking on the warm road after swimming
Heart 0 Comment 0
We swept down a hill on a road closed to other traffic and suddenly we were beside the water
Heart 1 Comment 0

IF WE SEE rabbits, Stéphane says, we are not to be scared. They are not only largely harmless but they are tame. They live on the camp-ground where he is the smiling, quietly-spoken and slightly rotund man in charge. He speaks fluent English with a French accent.

'My mother was Irish,' he said. 'When she was young - this is before the second world war - her family moved to America. And she met a pianist there and they got married. When America came into the war, he joined the US army and he was at D-Day and so on. After the war he came to Switzerland as a military judge and that entitled him to Swiss nationality. I was actually born in France, in Paris, but I’m Swiss. I also have an American passport because of my father, but unfortunately he had a stroke when he was 39. He lived until he was 92 but he could only say one word at a time. So he could say Bread but he couldn’t say he wanted some bread.

'So I’m American because of him but the last time I used my passport was when I took my mother's ashes to a little place between Los Angeles and San Francisco, called Carmel. I love that beautiful road along the coast there but I don't suppose I shall ever see it again."

Heart 1 Comment 0

We got to Veyrier, a posh village outside Geneva where rich folk live and a handful of bike riders - Laurent Jalabert and Richard Virenque among them - used to live. We got here after an afternoon of busy and tolerably unpleasant main road. It was an exercise in getting somewhere, a contrast to an idle morning of riding through hills and drinking coffee on cliff-top verandas.

Cliff-top coffee
Heart 0 Comment 0
A vine view
Heart 0 Comment 0

But it gives us the satisfaction of spending the night just inside Switzerland, safe against marauders because of the guard rabbits.

We're not going anywhere until I've got this brush
Heart 1 Comment 0

Tomorrow, we'll take the bus into Geneva and I'll report back from there.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0