WIBAUX, MONTANA: Under the Stress of Strong Headwinds, Mr. Nice Guy Names His Bike (For the Third Time.) - Mr. Nice Guy Goes Bad - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2017

WIBAUX, MONTANA: Under the Stress of Strong Headwinds, Mr. Nice Guy Names His Bike (For the Third Time.)

A picture taken at 4:30 a.m., just after using the Great Outdoor Restroom.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sliver of moon just above the horizon, and the orb I think is Venus, were worth a closer look.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Two hours later, the sun rises in almost the same exact spot.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Afternoon, evening, early morning, late morning, it doesn't matter--I love this campsite at ANY time of the day.  That's why, despite getting up at sunrise, I was in no hurry to leave.  I savored three cups of coffee and then ate a leisurely breakfast of CornNuts and beef jerky.  (As an aside, I can assure you that North Dakota is MUCH better at making beef jerky than it is at making wine.)

Looking back after a rough day of headwinds, I probably should have just planted myself right there for another day.  Unfortunately, I felt compelled to make some progress.  That's one of the flaws in my psyche.

Up and down I went on the Interstate highway.  At first I had great badlands and grasslands scenery to keep my spirits up, but in the extreme western part of North Dakota the land leveled out and the dirty rotten headwinds started to consume my every thought.

This was the prettiest part of my ride. In order to escape the wind, I exited the freeway and rode south on this little road for a half-mile. The wind was blowing me dangerously sideways though, so I turned around, got back on the freeway, and took my lumps straight on.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Oh, great, that hill has given me another ear worm.
Heart 0 Comment 0

To distract me from the wind and that cowboy song Home, Home, On the Range, I thought I should name my bike again.  It's had two names before and I really liked the first one--The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong--but I thought I should give it a new name.  Something related to this tour and to its ability to power me through the wind.

It came to me quickly.  It was so obvious.  "The Nice-cycle."  Or better yet, simply "Nicycle."

Nicycle and Mr. Nice Guy made it to a new state.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 216 miles (348 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0