Gear Talk Part II - Mr. Nice Guy Goes Bad - CycleBlaze

Gear Talk Part II

Mr. Nice Guy Takes Another Minute to Swallow His Pride and Bring Up His Least Favorite Topic Again

This is embarrassing because just one page ago I was bragging about my aversion to talking or writing about bicycle gear, about how none of my original bike parts have failed me, about how I do just fine with 2nd or 3rd-tier equipment, and about how I wasn't going to add any more pre-tour pages.  That was written before I delivered my bike to a trusted mechanic for a tune-up.

That trusted mechanic is my brother, Dan, who just happens to be some kind of a big shot at the Park Tool Company--the world's largest manufacturer of bicycle repair tools.  He is also credited as a consultant to the famous Big Blue Book of Bicycle Repair.  

What I did NOT know at the time was that he was going to enlist the help of one of his associates, Calvin Jones, who used to be a mechanic for the U.S. Olympic Cycling Team and is also the AUTHOR of the famous Big Blue Book of Bicycle Repair.  How many bike tourists can say their bikes were worked on by a couple of guys with those credentials? 

I can almost picture the two of them lifting my humble Long Haul Trucker onto a bike stand in a room down the hallway at the Park Tool headquarters, walking around it a couple of times, stroking their chins and saying, "hmmmmmmm, I wonder what we can do with this thing."  It turns out they agreed that a lot of my parts have worn out--not because of abuse or neglect, but because they have about 15,000 miles of commuting, touring, recreational riding, and grocery shopping on them.   I trusted their judgement that it was time for a few replacements.

I suppose I could easily have left this page out of my journal, but since I'm likely to take a few pictures of my bike along the way, some astute observers might bust me when they see the brand new chain, cassette, chain ring, derailleur, and wheels.

But really, the main reason for entering this page is to thank Dan and Calvin for prepping my bike for this tour.

Check out the new wheels and the shiny drive train. New Continental Tires too. The best part is that none of the new stuff compromises the frame's well-earned wabi-sabi.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0