DEVIL'S TOWER NATIONAL MONUMENT: Northeastern Wyoming is Just as Nice as Southeastern Montana - Mr. Nice Guy Goes Bad - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2017

DEVIL'S TOWER NATIONAL MONUMENT: Northeastern Wyoming is Just as Nice as Southeastern Montana

Less than two miles after leaving my gas station home, I entered a new state.  The following paragraph is what Wyoming said to me.  (It's true--a state spoke to me.)

"Welcome to ME, Greg.  You are about to experience even more wild animals than you did in that state to the north and almost as many cows.  My sky might not be as big, but it's big enough.  On the very first day you are going to be seeing some variations in the landscape, the likes of which you have not seen yet on your bicycle adventure.  Since I have the highest average elevation of any of the lower 48 states, I am going to have to start you off with a significant climb--just to show you I mean business.  From there I will guide you on twisty roads through some rolling plains and some mountainous territory, and then, after you are worn out from all the ups and downs, I will reward you with a screaming, 3-mile Disneyland thrill ride down into the town of Hulett.  How does that sound to you?"

"Sounds great," I replied, "bring it on!"

Heart 0 Comment 0
Once again, I was psychologically unable to resist taking a picture of the border crossing.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Wyoming wasn't lying.  From the welcome sign to Hulett, the state provided me with another 31 beautiful miles of low traffic and no services.  I've had a lot of that lately.  And Wyoming delivered on every one of the great features it promised me.

Wild animals
Heart 0 Comment 0
An early climb to higher elevations
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cows (Oh yes, Wyoming cows adore me too.)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Winding roads through grassy plains
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mountains
Heart 0 Comment 0

Perhaps I'm a little too cautious, or perhaps I have an unnatural fear of dying, but there are no pictures of the 40 m.p.h. Disneyland screamer.  You can trust me though--Wyoming delivered on that promise too.  It was a blast!

After exploring the old west town of Hulett, I picked up some supplies and proceeded another ten miles to Devil's Tower National Monument.  My anticipation level was at an all-time high.

My first glimpse of the tower from 8 miles out
Heart 0 Comment 0
Two miles out
Heart 0 Comment 0
My campsite
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 425 miles (684 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0