Kia Ora: Means welcome - New Zealand Cycle Adventure - CycleBlaze

December 20, 2016

Kia Ora: Means welcome

Kia ora is a Māori language greeting which has entered New Zealand English. It means, literally, be well/healthy and is translated as an informal hi at the Māori Language Commission website Kōrero Māori. It is also used as a farewell and expression of thanks. You hear this often starting with the welcome by the Air NZ flight attendants. I arrived with all my stuff including my bike which travelled well in the hard sided box. The bike is now all together and ready to ride but as usual my jet lag is settling in so I feel a nap rather than a bike ride is more likely. The weather is very pleasant albeit a little breezy but the setting here is spectacular. Already I can hear the Tui birds singing in the background and the Pohutukawa trees affectionately known as New Zealand Christmas trees are in bloom. As always it seems odd to be in shorts and a T shirt with a Christmas tree. Patti is on her way but she is taking the long way to get here so I hope all goes well. She will need a glass of Sauvignon Blanc by the time she gets here but fortunately NZ makes our favourite wine. Once everyone was home we went for a short walk along the black sand beach with a view of Mt Taranaki in the distance. I am not sure what is in store for tomorrow but perhaps a tour of New Plymouth.

My location for the next week or so with Kiwi friends and their family
Heart 1 Comment 0
A very large Christmas tree in the living room.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A Pohutukawa tree in full bloom.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mt Taranaki
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pohutukawa flower up close.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0