New Plymouth: Coastal pathway ride - New Zealand Cycle Adventure - CycleBlaze

December 21, 2016

New Plymouth: Coastal pathway ride

After a good nights sleep I went for my first ride today along the Coastal pathway in New Plymouth. It was the perfect ride to sort out the bike, my mirror on the other side of my hemet, riding on the left and passing on the right. After the trail ride and coffee in town with my friend's swim group I tackled the roads back to the house. I had no issues at all. The pathway runs along the coast line with views of New Plymouth. There is a unique rock formation in the water which is actually an old volcano with the edges out of the water and the centre under water. Out of town the path goes through some farmland with views of Mt Taranaki and ever present feature here. New Zealand is also called the land of the long white cloud and the photo of Mt Taranaki today illustrates this point. In the afternoon I took the 2 dogs on a lovely 1.5 HR walk on the Te Henui pathway passing some beautiful scenery. Before dinner we played 9 holes of golf at the Ngamotu/New Plymouth GC. It is a lovely course with some interesting holes and beautiful views of the sea on the back nine. Lastly, Patti arrived without her bike and after 33 hours of travel about 8:30 PM local time.

The local surf savers club out for a morning kayak in th surf.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mt Taranaki and the long white cloud.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This lovely bridge was part of the bike pathway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another Pohutukawa but this photo I did take as per my bike in the photo. They are late blooming this year because of a cool spring but all the better for me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view of New Plymouth from the pathway with the big rock formation (Paritutu) and sugar loaf Islands all of which are part of the old volcano.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A reflection photo of me in this funky art piece that is along the pathway in town,
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scenery from my walk with the dogs. There are over 200 varieties of ferns in NZ and I past some amazing specimens on my walk.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Giant fern fiddle head.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The local croquet and lawn bowling clubs. You don't see this everyday in North America.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The tee on the 13th fairway at the Ngamotu/New Plymouth GC.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 km (18 miles)
Total: 29 km (18 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0