Christchurch again: and heading home - New Zealand Cycle Adventure - CycleBlaze

February 13, 2017

Christchurch again: and heading home

My final blog for this adventure. I left home on 18 Dec 2016 and I return home on 15 Feb 2017 NZ time. It has been 60 days of good fun, good friends, food food, good wine and great cycling in one of my favorite places on earth, New Zealand. I like it so much that if I did not live in my beloved Canada I would live here. I want to thank my friends from home for coming along on this adventure it always makes it more fun having friends along including those in the Napier region. I also want to thank my new German, US and British friends for being lovely travelling companions and a great assistance on the road. But most importantly I want to thank all of my Kiwi friends old and new for welcoming me into their homes and their country. Everyone of you made the whole 60 days a pleasure and I am sad to leave, however I will be back. It may be cold at home but it is still home and I am happy to be going back to Victoria BC to be reunited with my dog Mr Darcy, my friends and family at home and my cycling buddies the Sisters of No Mercy. A bientôt and goodbye NZ but hello Canada.

One last bit of silliness while walking through Hagley Park on our way to dinner last night.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An artistic windmill in Christchurch that survived the big earthquake 6 years ago. Despite the destruction and the never ending construction Christchurch is alive and well on its way to a full recovery. I can't wait to see it again in a few years.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0