And what did he learn? - A new way... - CycleBlaze

And what did he learn?

It's a slow ride on a slow road...

"One's destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things."

Henry Miller

So, by international tour cycling standards, I certainly didn't travel very far. And I certainly didn't travel for any great length of time. And I didn't tour through any exotic far away magical mystical places. If those are the standards to measure and judge the success of all rides, then nope - this ride was an epic fail. 

But that's not how it felt. It's not what I saw. I felt like I did learn, or perhaps I should say I'm learning to see things differently... 

I saw that I didn't have to travel fast in order to enjoy myself. In fact, it seemed the slower I travelled, the more fun I had and the more in touch I felt with my environment and those I met on the journey.  

I was worried that after two years of no touring and little riding that my ageing body might actually prevent me from riding the track. Nope, I see I can still ride and will probably be able to do so for a few years yet. In fact, I realised that maybe, just maybe, as I age, my advancing years are opening me up to seeing things "differently". And I like what I see.  

Life should always be a slow ride on a slow road. 

Go Slow
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltYou said:

"And I didn't tour through any exotic far away magical mystical places. "

Ahhhhh, but you DID! Just that you are familiar with them, but most of us reading this are likely to disagree.

Thanks for the great tour! I especially enjoy the nature shots and the accompanying information.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Kathleen JonesLovely journal. Thanks.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonHear, hear! 20 years ago, I wasn’t sure I’d still be biking this late in life, much less that I’d be enjoying it as much as I still do. I didn’t have the vision then to see that the experience would morph with the times and be rewarding in new ways. Something’s lost but something’s gained, as Joni taught us decades ago.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kathleen ClassenThis was exotic, far away and magical for me. Familiar too! Our daughter in law is from Perth and we spent two months in the Margaret River area (Dunsborough specifically) exploring and visiting with the kiddos. I loved all the ‘ups’in your journal. Our DIL’s Mom is in Boyanup, and we were in so many more. Yallingup, Wilyabrup, Cowaramup etc. etc. We long to get back there and have our fingers crossed for 2022. We are also wanting to get our Australian family over here to the West Coast of Canada. Thank you so much for writing this. You really brightened my day, post a local, and cool, bike ride.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago