The Ride - A New Beginning - CycleBlaze

January 2, 2012

The Ride

This journal is a little ass backwards, if you want to know the truth. Unlike my other journals, I am writing this after the fact. It wasn't my plan but it just kind of worked out that way.

This was my first sagged tour since the one that got me started with all of this years ago. This trip seemed like a good idea; it was something different. There were parts of it I liked. It was fun to meet new riders and spend time with old friends. The route was nice and the weather perfect. Still, I decided that, overall, supported touring is not for me.

I met a woman on the trip who rode the Sierra Cascades route with some friends of mine from my home town. I didn't know her before this trip so it was a fun "small world coincidence moment" that made life interesting. Like me, Nicki had ridden mostly self-supported, so near the end I asked her what she thought of the trip. She thought for a moment and summed it up best by saying...

"I'm glad I came. It's good training, but it feels more stressful and not really enjoyable (compared to her self-supported tours). I always feel like I'm chasing riders and trying to stay with someone so I don't get dropped."

I had to agree. Most of the other riders were on lightweight bikes and seem in a hurry to get to the end. I don't know why? What is there to do when you get there but sit around?

There were no options. You couldn't decide to ride a short day or stop at a really cool place and look around. Few people could carry anything beside what they could fit in their pocket so things like spontaneous picnics were out. You had to get to the end because your stuff is at the end. With the short days it was sometimes difficult to know if you could get to the end on your own, without drafting. I ended up riding by myself a lot anyway, though something felt a little "unsettling" about that, compared to when I tour alone self-supported. I don't know why?

Some people like that kind of tour and I think that is great for them. But to me it didn't feel like a "bike tour." It felt like 6 days of training. It was not an adventure like my other tours. What's more, maybe it was my imagination but car drivers seemed less friendly than they do when I am carrying panniers. Maybe it's because they think anyone can ride a bike so, "get the hell out of my way," but riding with all that stuff is something a little more unique and well, special?

Still, I got to take the new Trucker out on the open road which I enjoyed very much. She was fabulous! I love the fit, she rides great. What's more, she's a great conversation starter, what with the couplers and all.

I'm glad I went on this trip, I was out of shape and needed to kick start my fitness. I met and rode with some nice people. I got to ride around in short sleeves in January! And it wasn't a total loss, journal wise. I took some nice pictures and will post, (along with some "journaling") them as I get them sorted. I will also post the route, with maps. It might be a good ride for people to do in the spring or fall, when conditions would be ideal with slightly longer days (than we had).

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0