In memory of The Trucker - A New Beginning - CycleBlaze

November 11, 2011

In memory of The Trucker

"Karen, where did you put your bike?"
"What?"
"It's not in the office anymore. Did you moved it?"
"Well if it's not in the office it's been stolen."

And sure enough, the office I put my beloved Trucker in was one big empty, with a desk and chairs and paper clips and those kinds of office things, but no Trucker.

I tried everything to get it back. I made a police report. I emailed everyone I know to look for it. I plastered flyers all over. I watched craiglist and Ebay and went to local swap meets...

You really learn who your friends are in that kind of situation, and who has your back. My friend Scott rode all over town in search of the Trucker, even to homeless camps! Other friends were on the lookout too, even my students have been keeping an eye out for it.

...but in the end, no Trucker.

What do you do in a situation like that? Part of me felt pretty awful; it was the bike I rode down the Pacific coast with, not to mention cross-country. It never let me down. You kind of think of a bike as a friend, under the circumstances.

But, in the end it is still only rubber and steel. It's not a person; a friend or family member that cannot be replaced. The only thing to do is keep the pictures and memories and find a new bike friend.

So that's what I did...

But don't think I could ever forget The Trucker. Here are some pics of the good times we shared, in memory of...

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0