The End - A New Beginning - CycleBlaze

January 1, 2012

The End

Finally, if I may, I would like to mention a thing or two about bike fit...

As mentioned in previous posts I was freaked out about ordering a size 46 frame. Since then I learned that the frame size number may not mean a dang thing, it's just a number. It was my pen pal Leo that first noticed that Surly takes the frame size measurement from the top of the top tube and not the top of the seat tube like most bikes. Therefore, in my case, I believe that the 46 frame "number" is meaningless. Look at all the room from the top tube to the top of the seat tube and top of the head tube. That is at least 3 cm's, maybe 4. Does that mean the bike is a 49-50 if you compare it to other bikes?

Heart 0 Comment 0

In the end what does it matter? My Bike Friday has no top tube at all and it fits great. And now my new Trucker fits great.

If it had not been for my friend's "fit bike" I would never have known this. I would have ordered a size 50 because it "seemed like it should be right." I encourage anyone who is looking into a new bike to try and find someone with a fit bike so you can plug in the different size frames and test them before plunking down the cash.

I have long femurs so I sit really far back in the saddle. That means my reach is not "normal". By getting the "46" I have a shorter top tube which makes the reach perfect. I was worried about toe overlap but the geometry of the LHT makes that impossible, it's so stretched out.

I did a lot of research before I bought this bike and these are common problems with women. I could have gone with a custom, high priced, frame but using the fit bike worked great.

The only problem I find on the smaller frame is the water bottle space, which is tight. However, this is a minor issue to me. I can always carry extra water in my bags (in platypus bottles for example) if necessary. I do that anyway when I ride long stretches between watering holes, I can just add an extra platypus.

Bottom line... I LOVE my new Trucker and I can't wait for my next trip, this time loaded! It's all planned, I have my tickets and I lift off in 5 months! WOOO-HOOOO!

FYI, here are some interesting articles on woman's bike fit...

http://www.myra-simon.com/bike/womens-fit.html

http://www.myra-simon.com/bike/what_women.html

http://www.myra-simon.com/bike/womens-fit.html

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0