Day 5: Feeling spry - A New Beginning - CycleBlaze

December 30, 2011

Day 5: Feeling spry

Whoa, how did that happen?

I left early, as usual, but this time when the group passed me I was able to hang on to some of the little packs that formed. Heck, I was even making it up some hills faster than the riders on those little carbon bikes....and then I started taking pulls!

Whoa, what happened.

So, it was that kind of day. I felt good all day. Maybe it just took 4 days since I have not been riding much so speak of over the last two months.

The scenery was pretty, though I found the drivers a little more uptight the closer we got to San Diego. I think there are just too many dang cars and people there now; everyone staking their claim and feeling like they have to find some elbow room?

Still, I made it. One more day of riding now.

Whoa, this horse has remarkable balance! Oh, wait, it's a statue. Never mind...
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were a lot of hills like this today. It was pretty scenery though.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Getting closer to Fallbrook
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's me. No, I don't mind riding in shorts with no arm warmers on December 30th.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were a lot of pretty citrus and avocado orchards
Heart 1 Comment 0
And a long fast downhill near the end...
Heart 0 Comment 0
:-)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 334 miles (538 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0