Day 7 - ending at Mullen, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2019

Day 7 - ending at Mullen, NE

Train whistles woke me at 3:40am. It was just as well, since I needed to work on yesterday's report. At 6:51am, I took a needed nine-minute nap. Started packing stuff in the tent at 8:00am.

It was after 9:00am before I was loading the bike. The fellow in the motor home next to me walked over and offered to bring me breakfast. That sounded great. Wes quickly returned with a breakfast burrito and a Gatorade. Then all his family came over to hear some about my trip! I didn't realize it at the time, but this breakfast is what would get me through the day. Today's destination was Mullen. Along the way I'd pass through Thedford, where I planned to eat. Except when I made it there, I found every place to eat closed. So, thanks Wes and family. You energized my day!

Backing up, at 10:10am I left, looking for water before I exited the camping area entirely. I found a faucet and also met a bicyclist who enjoys riding rail trails. We had fun talking about trails we'd both been on.

After waiting while a train passed, I was on the highway at 10:24am. Thedford was farther away than I was thinking. I arrived at a rest area east of Thedford at 11:55am, and checked the noon mileage five minutes later: 14.4 miles. Shortly after, I stopped at the Sinclair station for a cup of ice, which was 30 cents. 

On to downtown. I came to a touching memorial for two girls who'd become lost in the Sandhills. Later I was looking for a place to sit down to finish/send the report, since there was a cell signal here. I found a spot - a lovely park on the west end of town at 12:41pm. All done at 1:20pm.

Back on the highway, I was now feeling a very strong tailwind. Strong enough to blow the bike over when I stopped for pictures. Was it once or twice today that I was picking up the bike? I don't remember.

At 2:25pm I came to road construction and a no-shoulder situation. I stopped for a Gatorade/peanuts break before proceeding on at 2:42pm. It wasn't as bad as I'd anticipated. I was even able to stop for pictures. At 3:20pm I was at the junction with the road to Seneca. Time for another break. There'd been some hills on the way, but it would be flatter ahead. At 3:30pm I passed into Mountain Time. Hopefully, I'll record the correct times until I can get my watch reset. It is now 2:30pm (MDT). Nice!

At 2:35pm I entered Hooker County. I took my last break at 3:10pm, with 5 miles to go. The shoulder was back at 3:30pm, and I was passing Mullen's town sign at 3:54pm. Rode around downtown before heading for the motel. I've been told that, due to flooding, Route 97 north out of town is closed. 

I arrived at the Sandhills Motel at 4:32pm. The owner confirmed what I thought - there is no place open in town for supper on Sundays. Then she gave me a free bag of popcorn to microwave in my room. My room is actually a cabin (number 19) and there is a coffee maker and coffee here. After a shower I had popcorn and coffee for supper.

Storms were on the way, arriving here at 8:00pm. I am so glad to be inside tonight, enjoying supper as I work on picture selection. I stopped that to go to bed at 10:00pm. This is nice . . . Zzz.

Jeff

Spent: $0.30 (ice) + $72.48 plus $5 (motel) = $77.78.

Day 7 - Halsey, NE to Mullen, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
+ east side of Mullen +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
+ looking west at what would become this evening's storm +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 280 miles (451 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Scott AndersonYup, these look like the Sand Hills I remember from 45 years ago. Doesn’t look like all that much has changed. If I remember correctly, I stayed in Mullins too, or maybe Thedford, sleeping on the couch of a guy I met in a bar over dinner.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago