Day 27 - still at Beatrice, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2019

Day 27 - still at Beatrice, NE

Sprinkles woke me up this morning at 5:40am. I worked on report writing in the tent. A good rain started at 7:00am. No wind, no lighting, just rain. At 7:25am I decided to try eating in the tent - something I don't remember having done before. The toaster pastry crumbs were contained, so it worked out OK. At 9:55am, it stopped raining, but more was on the way. I continued report work.

I had planned to eat in town before I took off for Lincoln, but to save time, at 11:40am I decided to eat lunch in the tent. That also went OK. If I could just get going, but this rain wasn't moving on very fast. As it rolled past noon, I considered delaying a day. According to the weather forecast, tomorrow will be a perfect day.

At 12:50pm there was a break in the rain, so I rode into town with today's new plan - spend the afternoon at the Gage County Historical Society Museum. The curator greeted me and explained the floor layout for my self-guided tour. The lights for the different areas would turn on as I entered each section. Of course I took a lot of pictures. There was a section on Beatrice history, and another section about each of the other towns in Gage County.

Facts I found out about Beatrice, besides how it's pronounced, are that actor Robert Taylor was from Beatrice, and so was Harold Lloyd. Meadow Gold milk products were made by Beatrice Foods. Information on the town of Filley was interesting to me, since I viewed the 2017 eclipse from there. This museum sure has displayed their local history well. I completed my tour at 3:30pm, after purchasing a first day cover of the 1962 Homestead Act stamp.

Outside it couldn't be a more beautiful sunny day! Now, time for an early supper at Valentino's Grand Italian Buffet. I enjoyed everything I ate. Thinking of food pictures, there is a reason I post so many. There's this fellow where I work - a good friend actually - who thinks the meal pictures are the best part of my reports. And I'll admit, it's fun to look back and remember especially good meals.

Done eating at 5:14pm, I headed back to Riverside Park, part of the way on a bike trail. Back at the campsite, the thought came to me to empty the tent, turn it bottom side up, and let the ground cloth dry in the sunshine. That worked well and will make packing easier in the morning. While I was doing that, a camper across from my site came over to see if I needed help. He and his wife live in Beatrice, and we had fun talking about the town and about Nebraska weather.

I thought there were too many trees around for a sunset picture tonight, but a walk up the road provided a spot for viewing.

I was initially disappointed that I had to stay here another day, but it turned out to be fun. Tomorrow, on the bike trail on a beautiful day should be fun also.

Jeff

Spent: $18 (campsite) + $10 (museum donation) + $10.64 plus $2 (supper) = $40.64.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ there's a quiet ambience in Valentino's dining room - Beatrice, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0