Day 14 - still at Scottsbluff, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2019

Day 14 - still at Scottsbluff, NE

Good sleeping overnight, with a waking up time of 7:25am. A day off from riding today, but there was a lot to do - laundry, shower, report-writing. I met a fellow early this morning who said he was in his trailer when the hail storm of a few nights ago hit Scottsbluff. As he was standing there, a hail stone smashed through his skylight hitting the floor!

At 9:30am I had my dirty laundry gathered up for the ride to the laundromat. I checked the bike tires first, and found the new Bell folding tire on the rear had a tear at the bead next to the rim! I put the old Continental CityRIDE back on, so now I'm back to both tire being from 2011. 

Finally on my way to the laundromat in Gering at 10:51am, arriving at 11:19am. They were busy, and have only four of the small washing machines that would work for me. I waited four minutes for one to open and got started. A couple who'd been camping at Riverside Campground were at the laundromat. They had seen me at the campground and were enthusiastic about my trip, which was fun to hear. There are electrical outlets at the laundromat, but none near chairs, so I stood and typed while plugged in. All done at 1:10pm.

Now for some lunch. I decided on Runza, which was also busy. I was able to plug into AC there as well, and continued with report writing. On my way out I noticed an old Chevy Suburban in the parking lot. I'd seen this Suburban previously at the campground. It is similar to the 1965 Chevy pickup I used to own. I needed a picture.

I took a different road back to the campground, arriving at 2:23pm. That was a nearly eight-mile round trip, but the laundry is done! Next a shower. Then a trip to nearby Riverside Discovery Center (zoo) for a Dr Pepper from their soda machine. I stopped at the camp host's site first to pay for one more night here. I could see that it was going to take one more day off to get caught up. I settled down at a picnic table in the shade to work on reports and had everything that needed charging plugged in at the electrical box.

Such a pleasant afternoon. I stopped picture-sorting to call my friends George and Kris to hear news and to thank Kris for the journal uploading work she's been doing for me. I promised her I wouldn't send her another batch of forty pictures, but she said it wasn't a problem.

It was now 6:45pm and I went for another Dr Pepper to go with some ginger snaps. I later concluded, though, that the flavors clash.

At 7:30pm the camp host came by with some free firewood. Yes, time for a campfire! What an enjoyable evening! When the fire died down, I headed for the tent for report-writing for as long as I could stay awake, which was 11:15pm.

Jeff

Spent: $4 (laundry machines) + $8.65 (lunch) + $2 (Dr Peppers) + $10 (campsite) = $24.65.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kathleen JonesThanks for doing the Dr Pepper and ginger snaps taste-testing. Good to know they clash.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago