Pushing myself to the very end - From the Mountains to the Coast - CycleBlaze

September 26, 2019

Pushing myself to the very end

Cycling the NC Amateur Sports Mountains to Coast Ride

NC Amateur Sports 2019 Coastal Ride
Heart 0 Comment 0

Anxious. Nervous. That sums up my feelings. I am a few days away from getting on my bike and cycling from the North Carolina mountains to the coast over 7 days. This is not my style of touring. I fear I have bitten off too much with the North Carolina Amateur Sports ride. The days average almost 70 miles, the first four days averaging 3,000+ feet of elevation gain.

I had my opportunity to back out. I could change the ride to the 3-day less challenging coastal days only. I toyed with both options as the clock ticked down to the final deadline for changes. I let that day pass with great trepidation.

My choice to remain came down to challenging myself. I have taken on challenges on my bike over the years. I like structure, organization, and having a plan to move forward. Bicycle touring is about starting with a structure and building plans to move forward as challenges occur during the tour. This week promises to be full of challenges.

Greg and I at the 2019 NC Amateur Sports Coastal Ride
Heart 0 Comment 0

My decision is largely due to my touring buddy Greg. He is joining me on the ride. Greg embraces challenges. He has cycled several long-distance tours solo. Greg and I mesh well on tour. Touring cyclists know the importance of having a touring partner that meshes well with your personality and style of bicycle touring. From my perspective, we compliment each other well on our bikes. That teamwork helped me overcome my anxiety.

I am anxious about journaling. It puts me out there. The journal will expose my weakness. I run these weaknesses through my mind… not making it to the coast… hurting my body… not having a good time… not being a strong guy… not being a fast, young road cyclist… not having time to journal.

The bottom line is believing in myself. I am taking on the challenge. I am confident that Greg and I will make many memories this coming week. The best touring memories are those where I accept challenges and overcome obstacles. I Googled for a fitting motivational quote. I found this gem from G-Dragon, a South Korean rapper.

You must believe in yourself, challenge yourself, and push yourself until the very end; that's the only way you'll succeed.

This is the theme for this tour. It says it all!

Tom

2019 NC Amateur Sports Coastal Ride campground
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0