Fixing A Hole - We're So Happy We Can Hardly Count - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2016

Fixing A Hole

KY: The Stereophonics, playing the reprise Sergeant Pepper. Before that in order of appearance: The Kaiser Chiefs, It's Getting Better: Bryan Adams, Sergeant Pepper: The Fray, Fixing A Hole: Magic Numbers, She's Leaving Home: Razorlight, With A Little Help From My Friends: Travis, Lovely Rita: all tracks from the Beatles' groundbreaking album "Sergeant Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" and before that you heard the original Beatles, Fixing A Hole: the choice of my guest...

SK: Yes, you could say the Beatles are a kind of soundtrack of my childhood. My earliest memory. My awareness of the world came into being with their sound. I would've been three or four years old at the time when I remember playing by a small stream close to where we live supervised by an older sister. It was a Summer's evening and I could hear the song "Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds" It was in my head like what do you call it, an ear-worm, when a song you cannot get out of your head. I'd being hearing it on the radio. Other Beatle songs getting constant airplay about that time I recall were "Daytripper" and "Ticket to Ride". That's why I chose "Fixing A Hole" because it encapsulates the Beatles 1965-66 sound. That beautiful bass-guitar sound.

KY: You could say, The Beatles sound have transcended generations...

SK: Yes. They were before their time. Musically they pushed the boundaries of what was possible, leaving little for later generations to invent. It's also remarkable to meet young people today, fans of music which first came out before their parents were even born.

KY: We're coming to the end of the program, I've and I'm sure our listeners have enjoyed your choice in music...

SK: I would just like to say, my other choices like the Beatles, have been the legendary acts. The ones which younger generations still listen to today...

KY: And you're uploaded extra videos on the website that our listener can look at coming up after the program...

SK:I'll just state here, there's a lot of rubbish on YouTube, and it's only by accident, by trawling through so much dross that I've come up with such interesting film.

The first YouTube video on the site for the listener is a final record made by the Beatles' producer, George Martin. Followed by "The Kate Bush Story" Both are from the BBC, so are as always, outstanding, like this program.

KY: Flattery(laugh) So, it only remains for me to say, with you on this desert island, you're allowed "The Complete Work Of Shakespeare" "The King James Bible" and one luxury item, which will be?

SK: A Bicycle. Oh, I forgot there's no roads on the island. That's stumped me. Lets have a think. It isn't all loose sandy beach, so I should be able to ride a bike in from the beach. A fat-bike then, one of those with big balloon tyres.

KY: A fat-bike it is. Sean Kane, thanks for being our castaway guest this morning.

SK: Thanks for having me on. It's always been my ambition to appear on the program.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0