Title: Radio's Desert Island Discs Fourth Choice. (presented by Kirsty Young) - We're So Happy We Can Hardly Count - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2015

Title: Radio's Desert Island Discs Fourth Choice. (presented by Kirsty Young)

SK: Its my favourite song from Pink Floyd's Wish You Where Here, album, and, The Foo Fighter have recreated it their own way.

KY: Lets have a listen then.

CY: Loud and full of energy. And the title is embedded therein. I want you to now recite what you were writing in your notebook, while we were waiting to come on-air, referring to your forthcoming cycle-tour.

SK: You mean when I couldn't connect to the wifi? (laugh, then Sean opens his notebook).

The open road is before me once more.

The road will be much the same as before, but different this time.

There'll still be the Old Patagonia Express, the wind.

Meaning days of patients waiting until calm returns.

I will grow with the road, experiencing life to the full.

Through some days of misery, too.

The road will live on in me, in memories.

I have returned to the road in a country I love.

KY: You mention days of misery there.

SK: There are plenty of those from what I remember of Patagonia.

KY: Generally though, wouldn't you prefer to stay in one place and settle down. What gives you the motivation to keep cycle touring?

SK: I tend not to think too much about motivation. I just get on with it. I read once, that a nomadic lifestyle is natural to us and therefore, I'm happy traveling by bike, though that may not be the case a year from now.

There are downsides. I don't have a partner and sometimes that's hard. Its just me. I meet people, girls who I like and the feeling is mutual; but, then its time to move on and, there's that empty hole.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0