To Mantova - Reaching New Heights - CycleBlaze

October 4, 2021

To Mantova

I wanted to get an early start on today’s ride to Mantova (aka Mantua) – it was a longish distance with chances of rain increasing over the course of the afternoon and evening. I was downstairs early for breakfast and ready to retrieve Vivien George at just past 8 am – a new record! But there was a problem.

 Though the hotel provided a secured private garage for bike storage, the hotel clerk had strongly suggested that I lock Vivien George, something I don’t normally do. I carry a light-weight Ottolock for “must lock” situations – but am always a bit hesitant for fear I won’t be able to unlock it. It is not an irrational fear. A couple of years ago I an Ottolock to secure Vivien George to a metal railing – when I returned, the locking mechanism failed to release (link). I was able to free the bike due only to a good French friend and a very strong French woman.

For some inane reason, I bought another Ottolock and, you guessed it, the locking mechanism failed to release. This time, I knew I needed a hacksaw as well as a strong Italian – and the hotel manager quickly provided both! Vivien George was soon free and we were on our way – with the Ottolock tossed in the trash where it belongs!

Another Ottolock bites the dust - No Mas
Heart 4 Comment 0
Saying good-bye to Modena
Heart 3 Comment 0
Saying good-bye to Modena
Heart 2 Comment 0

After the early morning excitement, the rest of the day was rather flat, like the terrain. It was day we’ve likely all experienced from time to time – a day to get from point A to point B. There were few towns or landmarks to engage me or to fix my whereabouts, and at times I felt like a minion following the RWGPS blue line as it led me turn by turn from Modena to Mantova.

 The early morning sunshine gave way to clouds, then a light steady rain started around midday and lasted about an hour. It was a level 1 rain – jacket necessary but sufficient, while booties, hat, and rain pants were not required. Throughout the day, my near constant companions were small canals and rivers – cycling on adjacent roads or bike paths or, for long stretches, atop the embankments that aid in flood control of the Secchia and Po Rivers. The weather, the terrain, and the route all combined to cast the day in a quiet, contemplative mood – a day of reflection.

Sunshine and a far off haze ruled on this crisp morning.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I suspect the haze might be dust kicked up by all the field plowing I've seen
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sunshine selfie. I need to practice taking these while moving
Heart 4 Comment 0
Morning sky
Heart 3 Comment 0
Small quiet roads were the order of the day. Can you spot Vivien George?
Heart 4 Comment 0
It was beginning to cloud up by late morning
Heart 3 Comment 0
Almost time to head up onto the Secchia River argine, or flood embankment
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Secchia River argine provided a nice perspective to view the surrounding countryside
Heart 3 Comment 0
It certainly felt and looked like early Fall
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another countryside view from the argine
Heart 4 Comment 0
Lunch spot - it was difficult to find a good rest spot on the argine, but I spotted these benches at the entrance to an agrotourism venue.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I crossed the Po River and was soon circling one of the three man-made lakes that surround Mantova. Though I’d taken care to minimize gravel in today’s route planning, there was a short stretch of single track just to keep me on my toes! 

I checked in to my guest house – where I was the only guest – and managed to find a little early evening light to explore a small section of Mantova. The city was quiet on this damp Monday evening, with few patrons at the streetside bars and restaurants. Even the Mantua Cathedral was wrapped in silence while undergoing renovation. I capped the day with a nice pumpkin risotto and tortellini – the kind of comfort food that seemed a perfect ending to this quiet, workman-like day.

My bridge across the Po River
Heart 4 Comment 0
On the Po River argine - the sun is trying to lighten things up
Heart 3 Comment 0
On the Po River argine
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bend in the Po River
Heart 3 Comment 0
Just a little single track to keep me on my toes
Heart 8 Comment 0
Rotonda di San Lorenzo, the most ancient church in the city
Heart 5 Comment 0
Sala del Pisanello in the near empty Piazza Sordello
Heart 3 Comment 2
Scott AndersonSurprised you didn’t mention anything about the surface of the streets in Mantova. The most bone crushing ride I can remember.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonAh yes, but I mostly experienced it on my way out of town.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 689 miles (1,109 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Laura ChiharaI've read about problems with the Ottolocks but I own two! Luckily, I haven't had any problems (yet)! Glad you were able to get out of your jam!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago