Final Day in Cortina d'Amprezzo - Reaching New Heights - CycleBlaze

September 22, 2021

Final Day in Cortina d'Amprezzo

This was my last day in Cortina and there were several options as to how to spend the day. Guido had encouraged me to go to Lago di Braises and had checked out bus schedules for the trip from Cortina. I could take a tram ride up to local mountains for a hike/walk. There was also the option of a day off, though I’d just had one in Lienz a few days ago. I let the weather decide: a cold and cloudy day was a good day to catch up, rest some more, and do a little exploring of the town center. I spent the morning scanning the news, journaling and doing my daily crossword puzzle, something I’ve rarely found time for since I left Munich.

At mid-day I walked into town, a few short blocks from my Airbnb. The grey skies did not put Cortina in her best light, so I found a restaurant for lunch – Caprese salad and Pizza Marinara, with anchovies, olives and capers. Obviously, it was way too much food – the pizza was huge. Luckily, they boxed the uneaten half pizza and I ate it for dinner. Still, a lot of food. I am pretty sure that I’m gaining weight on this trip. Not to mention my cholesterol….

 Cortina d’Amprezzo is surrounded on all sides by the Dolomite Mountains – a striking setting that has drawn visitors for probably hundreds of years. In addition to the summer attractions such hiking, biking and mountaineering, Cortina d’Amprezzo has world class skiing venues - it hosted the 1956 Winter Olympics and the 2021 FIS World Ski Championships. The town is very upscale and to me has the feel of a playground for the rich and/or famous. The pedestrian area is lined with high-end stores, art galleries and nice hotels. I saw no gaudy tourist shops selling Tre Cime magnets. I made a couple of quick circuits of the central district and then head back to the Airbnb.

The central pedestrian area of Cortina d"Amprezzo -there was so much construction going on in and around town that it was difficult to get a picture without a truck or a crane in the shot
Heart 2 Comment 0
Town Hall/Administration Building
Heart 1 Comment 0
Basilica dei Santi Filippo e Giacomo
Heart 4 Comment 0
Hotel de la Poste
Heart 3 Comment 0
I just liked this one - no idea what it is
Heart 4 Comment 0
Shops along the square
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dior
Heart 1 Comment 0
My thoughts exactly
Heart 2 Comment 0

“My street” is closed to traffic because they are in the process of putting in a new road - comprised of cut stone pavers. Ther were just wrapping up for the day when I passed by so I wandered over for a closer look at how the process worked. I ended up in an extended conversation with one of the workmen - he was so proud of his work and eager to share. In his broken English, he explained how many layers it takes to prepare the road bed and why it takes so long to complete even a short section. He was most proud of the pavers - their varied coloration, where they came from, and the stonecutters who transformed large slabs of stone into uniform pavers. I learned a lot and left feeling a bit more grounded.

My tutor on the art of street building
Heart 2 Comment 0
Colorful pavers
Heart 1 Comment 0
My Airbnb is located between the mountains and mini-golf
Heart 3 Comment 0
Time to close the door and say "Good-bye Cortina, it's been a blast"
Heart 4 Comment 0

Back at the Airbnb, I played with route options for the coming days, did some more journaling and ate reheated pizza – not quite as good the first time around but better than most. I need to get back on the road and burn some calories!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0