Dandalup Hut to Dwellingup - Munda Biddi - Path through the forest - CycleBlaze

November 4, 2020

Dandalup Hut to Dwellingup

I was up, oats eaten, coffee downed and I was off, motivated by the idea of arriving in Dwellingup and going directly to the Blue Wren Cafe and eating - A LOT. 

Gum trees at Dandalup Hut
Heart 5 Comment 0

The ride was a shortish 39km and I was buoyed with the idea that the worst of the hills and pea gravel were behind me, well all the comments I had read about the Munda Biddi Trail said the first three days is the toughest,  worst is passed. I was being an optimist and may be slightly arrogant assuming my two days were equivalent to three days. Suffice to say, 39km later and pea gravel was still a thing, but not so much and it was certainly a day of ups and downs and diversions due to controlled burns.

Trail south of Dandalup Hut.
Heart 5 Comment 0

But I did arrive in Dwellingup for lunch and spent the afternoon washing, eating and sleeping, such is the life of a cycle tourer. The anticipated meal at the Blue Wren Cafe did not disappoint, neither did the meal at the pub for which I was there right on time for the kitchen to open. I downed a pint of cider along with my meal and was heading back to call it day well before sundown!

Today's ride: 39 km (24 miles)
Total: 173 km (107 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Deleted AccountThat's a great photo on the Ha Giang loop Annette - got some Vietnam journals coming?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Deleted AccountSome great photos here, looking forward to the rest.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Annette MarieTo Deleted AccountHi Andrew, nothing new sadly. 2018 was my last trip to Vietnam. I did a quick trip down the west coast of Borneo in 2019 but didn't go all the way. Just wasn't inspired by the endless Palm Oil plantations, pretty sad really.

But I did the Munda Biddi at the end of last year and hoping to do the Gibb River Road in July.

What about you? The last I read you had to come home because the borders close from Burma into India due to COVID and she did a top end trip.

Hope you are well, any plans?
Annette
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Deleted AccountTo Annette MarieVietnam trips on here please - particularly want to read about the Ha Giang loop. Am following your current Journal - Gibb River should be good - got a good bike or have they sealed it?

I'm planning Adelaide to Darwin starting early to mid March - minor set back the other day when part of my seat post stem snapped away so bike is stuffed - 23yo so it has served me well. Major headf#$k cause good bikes are hard to get at the moment but found a new Surly Ogre in Brisbane a couple of days ago. Standard built bike though so I'll have to upgrade as I go in the next year or two. Like the look of your handlebars on your Ha Giang photo - what are they and how do u find them?

Cheers,

Andrew
Reply to this comment
3 years ago