Train to Gdansk - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2015

Train to Gdansk

On this date, in 2015, nothing happened.

I spent the day waiting for the train, and then riding the train. Although they sell tickets for bicycles, there is no place for them on the train. They end up by the door, blocking the toilets. This train had 6 bikes, which was a problem. At one stop, I had to take my bike off so that someone else could get his bike off, and then reload it. The train ride was scheduled to take 7 hours, and took 7 and a half. At the station in Gdansk I had to go up and then down stairs with my bike.

I had booked a hostel bed in Gdansk. I thought it might be an opportunity to meet some other travelers. The info that I got from the hostel, after they accepted my reservation and based on a statement from me that I needed bike storage, was to use the bike rack outside. It is right next to a bar, and I don't think its safe, so I brought it inside. I think I'll have to find another place to stay tomorrow.

No pictures today.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0