The Iron Gate - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

September 15, 2015

The Iron Gate

And on into Romania (Drobeta-Turnu Severin)

I got up in the morning, left the place I was staying, and tried to find some breakfast. Quite a few places were open, but only for coffee, or for a hamburger, or a bakery for pastry only. I wanted a real breakfast. I went back to the information center when it opened at 8 in order to double check on the boat (now instead of not going it had turned into fully booked) and also asked about finding breakfast. The guy there said to go to the restaurant. I said it was closed. He said to go anywhere. I asked him to be more specific. He gave me the name of a Kafana. I asked where it is. He said "next to the exchange office". I asked if he could show me on a map. They don't have a map. I left. But I had eaten at a Kafana last night. I went back to it, and noticed the exchange office on the way. So I sat down at the place next to the exchange office, and had a very nice omelet. Just what I needed! I sat and are and watched people converting Dinars to Euros. I guess there isn't much confidence in the currency. Or people are still thinking of the hyperinflation of earlier times, when it took millions to buy breakfast. Today mine cost 350 dinar, almost 3 euros, for a ham omelet with bread and a cappuccino.

The days ride had some amazing scenery, much like yesterday, but also different since the road gets narrower. The wind had died down, and it was a nicer ride.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of today's tunnels. This one didn't have reflectors on the sides. Traffic was light enough that I felt okay stopping for a photo. But just one!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's section included the narrowest part of the Danube, only 150 meters wide, and some historical artifacts.

It's this narrow part of the Danube that is called the Iron Gate, although sometimes people use the phrase to refer to the hydroelectric station and damn below it. I spent the last of my dinar at a snack bar on the Serbian side, as you can't change it outside of Serbia.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I saw the famous Decebalus Rex, but from the far side of the river. It's 40 meters tall!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was one long, very steep hill. Actually, Decebalus is in the middle of the climb. At the top, there is a quarry.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a good downhill run from the peak, and the hills got smaller and the scenery less striking until I reached the damn and the crossing into Romania.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Serbia said goodbye, but Romania didn't say hello. Actually, there was a large "Welcome to Romania" sign in between Serbia and Romania immigration, just nothing after Romanian immigration. I had expected something, and didn't get my border crossing pictures.

After that it was a highway ride to Drobeta Turnu Severin. I headed to the Hotel Continental where the guidebook said I would find the information center. I hoped to get a map of Romania. The info center is no longer there, and I didn't get my map, but I took a room for the night. It is an old communist era hotel that hasn't seen any updates. The hot water was off when I arrived, and they had neglected to tell me that at reception, so I got ready for a shower but took it much later. I also found out I had lost an hour crossing the border, as Romania is an hour later than Serbia.

I was excited to meet another cyclist at the hotel. Manliffe Goodfellow, from Scotland, who is doing the route to the Black Sea. I enjoyed having some company for dinner, but more importantly, we agreed to try riding together the next day.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 72 km (45 miles)
Total: 2,505 km (1,556 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0