Sofia to Dupnica - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

September 20, 2015

Sofia to Dupnica

I knew I had a long (for me) day, so I ate a good breakfast and packed a sandwich, and was careful about food and drink all day. It worked out well.

The ride out of Sofia had a lot of traffic, and I'm glad I chose to leave on Sunday morning when things weren't too busy. I routed myself on one of the secondary roads to get out of town. I was a little surprised that it was cobbled a good 4 miles out from the center of town, but fortunately there was a bike and pedestrian lane with tarmac.

The outskirts of Sofia.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a steady incline to get out of town, no coasting for me, and then got steeper as it headed into the mountains.

Heart 0 Comment 0

It leveled out after Pernik, rolling a bit. The town of Radomir was my focus, as I had a turn off of the main road I was on, a much smaller road, and I didn't want to miss the turn. Radomir was a bigger town than I expected. In fact, it is a city, and it greeted me with lots of old style Soviet housing blocks.

First view of Radomir.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Radomir, it didn't improve much.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It really was not nice. I had planned to stop for lunch, but chose to just find my turn and move on. After the turn, there was some heavy industry.

Big factories near Radomir. I took this picture before I reached a sign indicating no pictures allowed.
Heart 0 Comment 0

But then the road turned into a very nice country road with nice scenery and few cars. There were no big trucks!

The countryside and small towns were more attractive.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The clouds rolled in in the afternoon. Lots of thunder, too, but no rain.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After about 10 miles, the road turned and ran parallel to the highway. It had gotten quite hot, and I stopped at a gas station for an ice cream and cold drink. While I was there, I took advantage of my new SIM card, any went on line and reserved a room for tonight. The room is at the Hotel Rila in Dupnica.

The rest of the ride was uneventful. There was another small climb, then a good downhill, and then the highway ended, dumping a lot of traffic onto my small road. I expect I'll have to deal with that heavier traffic tomorrow.

I found my way into town and to the hotel. It's a decent hotel, at the equivalent of US $26 per night. I have a room with AC on the seventh floor. There is a TV, but only Bulgarian channels.

The thing about the hotel is that there has been a wedding today and the reception is going on in the restaurant. I'm not sure if it was supposed to be outside, as it's raining heavily now. I had walked around town, and it seemed like other dining options were busy from the wedding, so I had decided to eat at the hotel. That's when I found out that the reception is in the restaurant. However I was told there were 2 restaurants and I could eat at one of them. It really wasn't set up to serve dinner, but I ordered a salad and a chicken dish suggested by the waitress. The salad was good, but it took forever to get the chicken, and it was not cooked through. In other words, it was raw. I told the waitress I couldn't eat it, and asked for the bill. They gave me a 20% discount. I went back to my room, and there is a fruit plate and a bottle of water. I'm not sure that they could have gotten it there so quickly after dinner, or whether it was just a welcome gift or something related to the wedding. I'll have to ask in the morning. Breakfast is included in the room rate. I hope it is okay.

In the Dupnica center. I'm not sure what this is, but it called out for a picture.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dupnica center.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 83 km (52 miles)
Total: 2,718 km (1,688 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0