Riga to Skaistkalne - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2015

Riga to Skaistkalne

Sometimes it doesn't rain in Latvia!

After all the rain and wind, today was just about a perfect day. Okay, there was some wind, especially later in the day, and the temperatures drifted up. It has been in the 60's and 70's (that's Fahrenheit, for us Americans), dropping into the 50's at night. About perfect, unless you're wet from the rain, when it can be chilly. Today hit 80.

I'm in Skaistkalne, on the Latvian side of the border with Lithuania. The ride out of Riga went smoothly. Sunday morning traffic was light.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Leaving Riga on one of the bridges over the Daugava River.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once I made it out of Riga, it was mostly farm land. I took the A7 highway to the P89. Over the past few days, I've been asking at every opportunity whether P89 was paved or gravel. I was told it is one of the main roads (P is for principle) so it must be paved, but no one said that they knew it was paved. I can happily report that it is paved the whole way. And it has been paved a long time. Even the patches have patches, and it is pretty bumpy.

I stopped for lunch in Vecziemeli. It was the only place today outside of Riga where the map showed a restaurant. It was the first meal I've had that was disappointing. I also picked up some extra water, anticipating a dry camp tonight. Then I went on, and stopped again in Barbele, which has a store. The guys outside seemed drunk, and I passed a couple of guys walking on the road who also seemed to be having trouble holding their line. I'm not sure if that is the normal state of things in Barbele, or if there is a special occasion. The map showed some sort of alternative accommodation in Barbele. I tried to ask the clerk in the store about it, and found out that there are 2 places in Skaistkalne, which was just 5 miles further.

Initially I had expected to camp somewhere in that 5 mile stretch. It didn't present any good spots, and I liked the idea of a shower, and was a little nervous about the drunks, so I went on into town. I did a bit more internet digging on my phone, and found out that there is a hostel at the Catholic Church. Or there is supposed to be. I went up the hill to the church, found the hostel building, rang the bell, and didn't get an answer. I tried phoning the number in the internet information. No answer. That might have been for the best, as I'm not sure how communication would have been on the phone. Then the priest came by. It wasn't possible to stay there. He called someone for me, and arranged accommodation. He even drove to the place so I could follow, since he couldn't explain where it was. Well, it's a holiday camp, the sort of place I've been trying to avoid. There is some sort of concert tonight, and everyone was rushing off to it as I arrived. I've been given the living room to sleep in, but there is a German family there who are leaving after the concert, so I don't really have the room yet. But I did get to shower.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wooden house on the outskirts of Riga.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 79 km (49 miles)
Total: 753 km (468 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0