Rest day in Gelibolu - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

October 3, 2015

Rest day in Gelibolu

I decided to spend another day in Gelibolu. I have a hotel booked in Istanbul from October 5. I'm now planning on taking the ferry to Lapseki and then a bus to Bandirma tomorrow. Then I'll take the ferry from Bandirma to Istanbul the following day. It seemed best (and easiest) to stay here one more night. The hotel in Istanbul is booked, so I couldn't check in a day early.

I went for a walk on the path by the water.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

It went to the Submarine Museum and park, a memorial to the crew of a submarine that was lost in WW2.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I went up onto the bluff above the park. There was a view down to the sandy beach side of town.

Heart 0 Comment 0

There is also another park where the Gelibolu light house is located. The lighthouse is tucked away behind a toilet building, but you can see the top. It doesn't seem too high, but because it is on the bluff it is quite a way above sea level.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I walked around town a bit more, and then went back to the hotel.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I reviewed this journal and found a couple of pages missing the distance of my rides, so I updated that. It mostly explains the discrepancy between the mileage shown on my cateye cycle computer and the total shown for this trip in this journal.

I had dinner in a self serve restaurant. These restaurants seem popular here. You can see the food, and I was served like I would be in a cafeteria, but it seems like local people go in, decide what they want and sit down, and then someone brings it over. The staff responds to requests for drinks or other additional items, and there is a bread basket on the table. My meal was really good!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0