I am not a Blogger - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

March 16, 2015

I am not a Blogger

I've been asked by any number of people if I am blogging this trip. "Blogging", really? I didn't think I was a blogger, or that I'm blogging, but I thought I should double check, and looked up a definition. I googled "blog" (since I'm okay with "google" as a verb) and found this definition:

"a regularly updated website or web page, typically one run by an individual or small group, that is written in an informal or conversational style."

That sounds like what I'm doing. Uh, oh. But then I kept reading, and found that "discrete entries ("posts") are typically displayed in reverse chronological order".

There we go! I'm using the the journal structure here on the CGOAB website, that puts pages in chronological (not reverse) order. I am not a Blogger!

So this really isn't a Blog, it's a journal (as our illustrious webmaster Neil also calls it). It is intended to keep a record of where I am and what I'm doing, so friends and family can follow along, and so that I can look back on it in my old(er) age and wonder that I was ever capable of such a trip. I'm not likely to wax philosophic, or to share deep insights about the people or places I encounter. If it ends up as a list of activities (I woke up, I rode my bike, I ate, I slept) and doesn't keep your interest, I apologize in advance. Of course, I would really like to make it interesting and keep you spellbound. I'm just a little worried that it won't happen. And, by the way, you'll have to put up with a bunch of introductory pages about equipment and preparations as I get ready for this trip.

There are quite a few riveting journals here on the CrazyGuy website, and I've spent hours following the exploits of people I've never met. I've been inspired by many of the journals, which leave me feeling like I (and you, too) can do anything! I've chosen to write my journal on the CrazyGuy website to try to be part of this community of great and adventurous people who choose to do their traveling by bicycle. So I want to thank Neil for all of his time and effort in keeping this site going, and the other bicycle travelers whose journals are truly inspirational, and any one who reads this, friend or family or fellow bike traveler. I hope I can live up to expectations!

Lastly, please look toward the top of the page and make note of the "Guestbook" feature. You can send me a message via the guestbook. It's a great way to communicate and keep everything tied together, and I would love to hear from you. Please note that the Guestbook is public. If you want to keep something private, send me an e-mail!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0