Gear - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

May 8, 2015

Gear

I'm a bit of a gear-head. I'm writing this list primarily for myself, to help me when it comes time to actually pack, and to keep track of what I'm bringing and how it holds up. It may interest some other bicycle travelers. If it doesn't interest you, I'd encourage you to page through to other things that (hopefully) do.

Luggage - I've replaced my old panniers with Ortliebs. A lot of people get excited about Ortliebs because they are waterproof. I'm excited about them because they don't have zippers! I got a very good deal on the Ortliebs, but I didn't get a matched set.

  • Ortlieb classic backrollers
  • Ortlieb Sportpacker plus front panniers
  • Ortlieb Handlebar bag
  • Map case for handlebar bag
  • Straps for attaching tent to rear rack
  • REI Flash Pack - to be used as stuff sack inside my panniers on the bike, and also as off-bike carrier
  • Extra stuff sack to be used as food bag
  • Stuff sacks for clothes

Camping - sleep

  • Big Agnes tent (Fly Creek UL2)
  • REI Sleeping Bag (Rated at 20C. I know it's summer, but I sleep really cold.)
  • Silk sleeping bag liner
  • Big Agnes Sleeping pad (Insulated air core, mummy style)
  • Camping pillow, inflatable

Camping - kitchen

  • Trangia mini alcohol stove and pot - Last minute change from Trangia pot to older Ti pots, about the same size and weight, but 2 pots so I can heat water in one and cook in the other.
  • Wind screen
  • Fuel bottle (empty for the airport) Will need to get fuel in Stockholm
  • Lighter Needs to be carried on person on plane. Buy in Stockholm.
  • Plastic Mug
  • Plastic utensils
  • Plastic bowl
  • Swiss army knife
  • Steripen Water Purifier (uses CR123 batteries, bring spares)
  • Headlamp

Clothing

  • Bike Shorts x2
  • Regular shorts
  • Regular knickers
  • Nylon pants, quick dry and lighter weight than cotton (wear on plane)
  • Plaid nylon long sleeve button up biking shirt by Aerotech Designs (wear on plane)
  • T-shirt, modern miracle fiber
  • T-shirt, light weight wool
  • High visibility bike jersey, short sleeves
  • Long sleeve synthetic t-shirt
  • Wool zip-up long underwear top
  • Wool long underwear bottoms
  • Nylon lightweight shorts for sleeping (in hostels)
  • Warm jacket -- Marmot DriClime Windshirt (I've had this a very long time. I hope I don't need anything warmer.)
  • Beanie - to fit under helmet
  • Buff
  • Windbreaker, very light weight nylon
  • Rain jacket
  • Rain pants
  • Hotel shower cap for helmet and also for saddle x2
  • Knee warmers
  • Full finger gloves
  • Half finger biking gloves
  • Waterproof shoe covers
  • Underwear and bras x3 ??
  • Socks x4 ??
  • Socks, heavyweight, for sleeping
  • Shoes, Five Ten Freeriders (I'm going clipless-less with flat pedals) (wear on plane)
  • Sandals
  • Bike helmet

Toiletries

  • Sunscreen
  • Bug repellent, I'm giving picaridin (rather than DEET) a try, as it is less toxic to humans and to synthetic clothes and sleeping bags and tents, and the County Health Department says it has been shown to be as effective as DEET.
  • Tooth brush / Tooth paste / Dental floss
  • Nail clippers
  • Travel towel
  • Hairbrush
  • Hair elastics
  • Small mirror
  • Small shampoo
  • Dr. Bronner's soap
  • Lip gloss x2
  • Spare glasses
  • Toilet paper
  • Wet wipes
  • Ear plugs x3 pairs (easily lost!)

First Aid kit

  • Tweezers
  • Band-aids
  • Ibuprofen
  • Benadryl
  • Antibiotic ointment
  • Immodium
  • Cipro (prescription from Doctor) for "below the diaphragm" infections
  • Zithro (prescription from Doctor) for "above the diaphragm" infections

Bike maintenance and spares

  • 2 Spare Tubes
  • 2 patch kits (because with one, the glue always ends up dried out!)
  • Pump
  • Tire levers
  • S&S wrench (includes pedal wrench)
  • 4 inch adjustable wrench
  • Small needle nose pliers
  • Topeak mini ratchet -- add sockets and T-20 insert
  • Separate allen keys (6mm for bar end shifter, 5mm, 4mm, 3mm for brake pad adjustment, also stubby for EBB adjustment)
  • Spare spokes
  • Spoke wrench
  • Spare shifter cable x2 (Note that with the cable splitters that go with the S&S couplers, there are a total of 4 shift cables on the bike)
  • Spare brake cable
  • Spare rack bolts (replace phillips for fenders with hex heads)
  • Zip ties
  • Rohloff oil change kit (I probably won't need to change the oil until the end of the trip, but this is in case something unexpected happens)
  • Spare Gates Drive belt (118 teeth, for the record)
  • Rohloff sprocket removal tool
  • Duct tape
  • Lock
  • Mirror - I've tried mirrors in the past, mounted on my eyeglasses. In town, crossing streets, looking to the left it was smack dab in the middle of my field of view. This time I'm trying a handlebar mounted mirror, the Ortlieb Ultralight Mirror. I hope I'll like it better.

Electronics/Communication/Navigation/Entertainment

  • Smart phone, Asus Zenfone 2, a "phablet" that should be okay with local SIM cards, new for this trip. To be used for updating this journal. (My old phone is old, and is CDMA so that it won't work with the GSM networks in Europe (or the US!))
  • Camera My camera runs through the battery unreasonably quickly unless the battery is removed when not in use, and isn't USB re-chargeable. Hopefully the smart phone will do for photos.
  • Ipod nano and ear buds
  • Kindle
  • Paper maps - for a good overview and general planning
  • GPS, Garmin Edge 800 with Open Street Maps
  • External battery, to buffer between the USB charger on my dynamo and my GPS and/or phone, in addition to providing extra capacity
  • Wall charger, with adapter for European outlets
  • USB cables, mini and micro (x2, when using external battery as a buffer) and Ipod
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0