Donolavy: A long slow climb in the rain - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

August 26, 2015

Donolavy: A long slow climb in the rain

I left Besenova promptly after breakfast, with the idea that I wouldn't dawdle and waste any time today, as rain was predicted in the afternoon and it was already overcast.

I headed to Ruzomberok, where I would pick up the highway heading south. The ride there was mostly bike path and pleasant. Ruzomberok is a good-sized city. The initial approach was not impressive, passing a huge dump.

Heading into Ruzomberok.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I allowed myself a stop for coffee, as the coffee with breakfast barely passed for coffee. Then I found myself in front of an Orange store. Orange is one of the big names in wireless here. I had decided to pass up a SIM card for Slovakia, but since it was right there, I went in. I bought a SIM card for 7 euros. It has a 7 euro allowance with it, and I've already forgotten what rate internet is charged. Oh, well. It should last me the few days I still have in Slovakia. I actually don't have service now, and I hope that's just due to coverage on the mountain top where I am.

After buying the SIM, I found my way out of the city. I was worried about riding on a main highway, but my Garmin did a good job of keeping me on the cycle path that roughly followed the highway. It was still cycle route C! I need to look it up. Maybe all cycle routes are labeled C.

Cycle route on the way to Ruzemberok.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The route was sometimes paved, and sometimes double track.

More cycle route.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It took me psst some beautiful spots I would have missed on the road. I would have lingered at this picnic spot if I wasn't worried about the rain.

Picnic spot along the cycle path. It's on a river, too.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Sometimes it became just single track.

Even more cycle route.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's hard to make good time on this path, but it's still cycle route C.

Heart 0 Comment 0

It went through some farms

Heart 0 Comment 0

and rejoined the highway just before the town of Liptovska Osada. I had a quick snack there. Heading out of town, there was a police blockade. Fortunately the policeman spoke English. He said the road was closed, but a bicycle could get through. I asked whether it would be difficult, and whether he thought the rain would be a problem, and he just shrugged. I asked where the next hotel would be, if I need a bailout option. He said it would be Donolavy. Since that's where I am, you can guess that I needed the bailout.

Liptovska Osada is the start of a climb to nearly 1000 meters, with a total gain of somewhere near 800 m. It started off quite gently. I pedalled along, thinking that I shouldn't have been avoiding the main highways. Of course, traffic was light because the road was closed ahead. It was sprinkling lightly. After a couple of miles, the road got steeper and the rain got heavier. Traffic also picked up, looking like the police block below had been released. I pulled over to let a long line of vehicles go by, and then kept riding. The road got even steeper, and I got even wetter. I didn't get out my rain jacket, because I was working up a sweat and was warm despite the air temperature dropping to 60 F. About 2 miles from the summit, which is at Donolavy, I hit my limit. I got off and started pushing the bike. I pushed most of the remaining distance, and took a room at the first penzion I came to.

Penzion Damisport is a nice place, despite the lack of research that went into choosing it. Its over a sporting goods store that does ski rentals in winter and bike rentals in summer, and a restaurant. My room is all wood, and feels like a ski chalet. There are 2 beds, plus a loft with 2 more beds. I think I'll use just one.

Donolavy is a ski town. There are some hikers about, but I'm sure the weather is keeping the activity level low today.

Heart 0 Comment 0
For my sister. Some kind of annual sled dog competition. The US is not represented in the countries listed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the balcony of my hotel room
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the balcony of my room, looking in the other direction.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm looking forward to the descent tomorrow. I'm out of the High Tatras, so I *think* this was the last of the big climbs in Slovakia.

Today's ride: 42 km (26 miles)
Total: 1,569 km (974 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0