Granada to Camil - Trains, World Cup and Ashes - CycleBlaze

May 12, 2019

Granada to Camil

crossing some mountains

I had been hesitant about cycling between Granada and Jaen, because the main route involves climbing up over a mountain range, the same one I climbed up to to get to the national park a week ago, the route involves following a freeway but with a presumably quiet main road next to it for the majority of the way. Cyclist are not allowed to cycle the freeways anyway. Originally had look at cycling to a Moreda 60kms away following the railway line back towards Guadix and getting the train from there with a couple of stopovers before getting back to Madrid but that didn’t work out as that route doesn’t have any trains that allow fully assembled bicycles, while the rail route west is closed as the fast rail is being built to Granada and there is no direct Media Distance trains to Madrid that way. I did investigate the option of taking the bus by visting the bus station in Granada but they want the bicycle disassembled and wrapped in plastic so didn’t fancy that. I was able to find a route that followed the railway line and a river initially before climbing through small towns avoiding being near the freeway for the most part before descending beside the freeway into Jaen, where I could catch one of 4 daily trains to Madrid.

After a late night at the football and since I didn’t have to leave my Airbnb until midday took the time in the morning to do some planning for my final week in Spain. When I did set off my route was actually busy with numerous cyclist riding towards me but not many cars as I followed the tram line out of Granada slowly climbing before joining a potholed road that went around a lake. After a brief stint on the quiet highway next to the freeway the ride follows a river to the town of Iznalloz. Was scenic through a wide river valley where you don’t notice your climbing until a short steep climb to get to town. With it being a Sunday, town was quiet but I did meet 2 touring cyclist going a similar way to Jaen but taking a slightly further east route that had similar climbs but one bigger town on the route. Thought I may see them on the road but since I then took a wrong turn in town I didn’t end up catching up to them.

Quiet ride out of Granada
Heart 0 Comment 0
across the water was luxury homes, this side were sheep and potholed road
Heart 0 Comment 0
riding beside railway line, viewed this road on my train into Granada
Heart 0 Comment 0
open valley ride to iznalloz
Heart 0 Comment 0
road was quiet
Heart 0 Comment 0

Was getting warmer now as it was at the hottest part of the day as I began the climbing which involved some short steep sections of a kilometre at a time mostly followed by gradual climbs and every 10kms or so was a town so was able to pace my way up. After a couple of hours suddenly I was at the high point and was able for the most part to relax and slowly descend on similar gradient roads, going much quicker but still having the occasionally short climb to do, usually just before town. 

quiet ride this Sunday afternoon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Flat sections like this, followed by climbing
Heart 0 Comment 0
high point of the day
Heart 0 Comment 0
election were on recently in Spain
Heart 0 Comment 0

Since it was Sunday, knowing that supermarkets would I be closed and the fact I had used up all my stove fuel in Guadix decide not to carry a new fuel bottle or dinner supplies especially as that would involve more than an extra kilo of weight while climbing, instead found the town of Cambil had a restaurant, so enjoyed there weekend special where I selected a three course meal. After the meal my legs suddenly felt tired so instead of exploring the scenic town which is surrounded by mountains with a lookout and canals throughout town, just laid down on a bench for a while. Was a struggle finding a place to camp, that was quiet and away from lights, there was a path with street lights that follows the canal towards the fenced off football stadium and there was a paddock nearby but was near a road, so eventually found a tiny space up a goat track beside the fenced off football stadium, to set up tent in the dark.

Today's ride: 88 km (55 miles)
Total: 1,463 km (909 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0