Camil to Jaen - Trains, World Cup and Ashes - CycleBlaze

May 13, 2019

Camil to Jaen

train to Aranjuez

Awoke Monday morning knowing I only had 30kms of mostly down hill cycling to Jaen, so while waiting for supermarket in Camil to open, when for a walk climbing to the lookout near the school, which gave good views but walkway up was littered with rubbish.  

Stealth camping beside football stadium
Heart 0 Comment 0
view from Camil lookout with last nights restaurant near the pool
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back at where I came from
Heart 0 Comment 0
my route out of town to come
Heart 0 Comment 0
information from lookout
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a climb to get out of town before descending down to the freeway. Thankfully was able to gradually descend on the quiet highway next to freeway all the way into Jaen, with a few road cyclist also out. The final 5kms into Jaen wasn't as quiet as my route became busy but made town before midday. 

One of a few cyclist seen this morning on highway to Jaen
Heart 0 Comment 0

With train leaving later in the day went for explore of Jaen having missed out previously while passing through here 10 days ago but other than a large cathedral and some nice gardens didn’t find much of interest and couldn’t find the tourist information centre despite signs saying it was nearby.

Since I had plenty of time until my train left, decide a burger at a restaurant looked okay and was reasonably priced. However it was served with a raw meat inside and even when having it cooked further was still raw, not sure if that was a confusion on my part by the type of burger I ordered. 

Since my warmshower host in Madrid Renata couldn’t host me again, I decide to stop my train ride short to Madrid at the town of Aranjuez, which has a royal palace and gardens you can explore and is also the end of the local train service from Madrid so could catch any train in the morning to Madrid. The actual train ride from Jaen was okay becoming flatter as we made our way north going through towns I had seen on a map as railway junctions and potential places to explore. If i had more time would have been some interesting places to explore

The palace at Aranjuez is closed on a Mondays but the gardens were okay with lots of small fountains and hedges and plenty of trees but security guards would let me even walk bicycle through gardens so since it was now 8pm and I was hungry only had a quick look. Had thought of camping just over the river but with a google map look could see it wasn’t suitable so went south finding a lagoon to camp near. Was a narrow path to get around lagoon but eventually found an open spot beside a large tower lookout for bird watching to camp under. Located nearby was a railway line but it was quiet during the night.

a wide range of bakery items I could select at the Lidl supermarket, using my own bread bags I had. Lidl was the only supermarket I saw in Spain, France and the UK. Also saw it in Eastern Europe last year. Bakeries items changed slightly depending on country, while France never had milk while others did.
Heart 0 Comment 0
part of the royal palace gardens
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
reminded me of getting a prickle out of my foot
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 km (29 miles)
Total: 1,510 km (938 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0