Traveling to the Queen City - Let’s tour Ohio… again - CycleBlaze

September 9, 2022

Traveling to the Queen City

Trading a horse for a bike

Starting the day at the Hardin Country Fair
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was an early wake-up call today… 3:30 am. The family was off to Kenton and the Hardin County Fair for the draft horse and pony show. My husband’s family are avid draft pony owners who make the circuit to many Ohio county fairs. Kenton is about the farthest they travel, about 2 hours.

I am not a skilled horseman but do drive in the hitch show’s men’s cart class. I took the third premium today. I am getting better with each fair. Some day I may work up to a wagon class with more than one pony. This fair is a typical rural county fair that exemplifies Ohio farm country. I love walking through the animal barns and enjoying the food served in the Grange dining hall.

Third premium win in the Hardin Country Fair Draft Horse and pony show men's pony cart class.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The show ended early afternoon. I headed south 2 ½ hours to Cincinnati for the night. The usual rush hour traffic was compounded with a couple of accidents along the way.

I met up tonight with several of the ride volunteers and Ohio to Erie Trail board members supporting the ride. The ride cyclists are easily spotted in the hotel wheeling their bikes through the lobby. 

Tonight's dinner was at The Standard Covington, a fun old Standard Oil gas station repurposed into a casual dining spot
Heart 0 Comment 0

The staff set the luggage truck and SAG vehicle up for the ride tomorrow morning. Mike, our bike mechanic and Ohio to Erie Trail board president has the mobile bike shop fully equipped and ready to go. Sandy, the ride’s scout, set out to place direction arrows on the city streets leading to the trail start across the river.

My fellow ride volunteers at dinner in Covington
Heart 1 Comment 0

There is always excitement in the air the day before the ride. I do not ride tomorrow. Jody, the trail’s Executive Director, and I are staffing and driving the luggage truck to the first overnight in Xenia. I like this job since I meet the cyclists at the start of their day loading their luggage. I greet them in Xenia at the end of their day with the luggage at the hotel. They have super tales of their day on the bike.

Quote of the Day

There's no destination. The journey is all that there is, and it can be very, very joyful. - Srikumar Rao

 Today's Trivia

Cincinnati was a center for the pork-packing industry in the mid to late 1800s. Hogs were slaughtered and butchered and sold in Cincinnati or shipped. Cincinnati became known as Porkopolis. Statues of dancing pigs and flying swine can be found along the city’s riverfront.

Follow the Tour  

 No need to jump on a train or canal boat as I pedal the tracks of steam locomotives and canal boats across the Buckeye State. You can just check me out on social media at Cycle Blaze and Instagram with hashtags  #OH2Erie and #Moffitt22. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltFlying pigs... The annual Cincinnati Marathon is the "Flying Pig Marathon." As a nearby has-been runner whose knees will no longer allow such exploits, I enjoy the enthusiasm of the participants.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flying_Pig_Marathon
Reply to this comment
1 year ago