my impact on Madre Tierra - "It keeps getting better" - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2022 to July 30, 2022

my impact on Madre Tierra

After having dropped off my bike for some levado, mientamento I started exploring Ipiales. 

I woke up early and took a colectivo to Tuqerres hoping to witness Laguna Verde. Incidentally the driver of this colectivo was a bici aficionado and a Tuqerres native. He directed me to visit the oficina of alcalda. There I learnt that due to basura y destrucion by visitors the Laguna Verde has been closed for some 4-5 years now.

After eating some breakfast, I intended to make the most by atleast walking upto the gate of the Laguna Verde.

It was a beautiful 20+ km walk through countryside and elevation went upto 11200 ft.

Beautiful Marino countryside
Heart 4 Comment 0
Beautiful (?) Laguna Verde
Heart 2 Comment 1
Steve GrimesToo bad this was closed
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ingresso Prohibido
Heart 0 Comment 0

After seeing the above entry prohibited sign, I turned around but found a different trail that I hoped would give me a glimpse of the Laguna. That was a beautiful trail with lots of paramo of Narino countryside. I was the only one on that trail and saw a lot of flora including beautiful yellow orchids. And, I turned around at the time (2pm) I had set for myself.

I ended up hiking a different part of the park
Heart 2 Comment 0
Beautiful scenery of Narino
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wild orchids.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Throughout the day I was very disturbed by the reason the Laguna Verde had been shutdown. I am sure many other beautiful places around the world will face the same fate of basura, destrucion and hard decision of access to visitors or keeping the nature pristine.

On my way back, I ended up doing something I had avoided all of past month. I started picking up trash along the way and had a bag full. At one point, I had to stop picking as I realized it's a never ending game.

Towards the later half of walk, I was able to get a lift from 3 "poor" colombian farmers who dropped me off in Tuqerres but refused to take any money.

I wasn't able to pickup bike this evening so I ended up deciding to spend another night in Ipiales.

On picking up my bike on 30th, I was directed to this "no name" tailer shop so that I could get some repairs on most of my bici maletas. This led to best experience of Colombia thus far..

Today's ride: 5 miles (8 km)
Total: 814 miles (1,310 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Steve Grimes "hard decision of access to visitors or keeping the nature pristine". Of course, no humans would keep it as pristine as possible. I do think there are alternatives, though: no road building to grant access, limiting access to those who go with a guide, etc. But that takes effort, planning, and strong governance/community support.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keiko PetroskySuch kindness is strangers
Reply to this comment
1 year ago