Chevre y sad day - "It keeps getting better" - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2022 to August 1, 2022

Chevre y sad day

Bicipiales mechanic, Mario not only cleaned but did mainteninento on MisterGordo. As I needed some repair on my bici maletas he sent me to this un-named car/truck seat repair/tailor.

Jesus working on another bici maleta..
Heart 2 Comment 0

Tailor Jesus initially said he won't be able to fix my bike but then found a way. Then we started chatting and he showed me pictures of his full suspension, Scott bike and his "solamente trocha" rides. Then we exchanged Whatsapp Numeros and in the afternoon he invited me back to his store for more repairs to bici maletas and to show rides he was planning for "fin de semana", Domingo with his groupo de ciclistas.

He spent 2-3 hours fixing my maletas but would not accept anything. I went to pay him 20.000 pesos ($5) and he hesitated. I thought it was less and went to pay 50.000 ($10). He said please give me $5!

Next morning, he picked me up at 445am and we drove for some 3 hours and we rode for some 5 hours of riding bike to this beautiful, cristalina cascada.

Jesus and Michael by the cascada
Heart 3 Comment 1
Keiko PetroskyOh wow Girish. You inspire kindness / find like-minded folks. What a memory
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Normalmente Colombiano suvida
Heart 5 Comment 0

I spent that night with Jesus's family practicing my Espanol while his sobrinos practiced their Ingles.

As Jesus had forwarned me his familia es dirt "poor" but only in western monetary standards. From a happiness, giving, caring, hospitality point we westerners (capitalists) are the poorest.

Con Helen
Heart 4 Comment 0

Saying bye to his familia next morning was the toughest day for me en Colombia. I cried. 

Jesus' familia
Heart 4 Comment 1
Keiko PetroskyA lovely family. Thank you for sharing your journey
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I cried the entire 2km ride from Ipiales to Rumichaka border crossing. I cried also because I would have to say bye to Chevre Colombia..

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 834 miles (1,342 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Steve Grimes"solamente trocha"

I'm learning some Spanish too along with you!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago