back in Colombia.. - "It keeps getting better" - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2022 to August 4, 2022

back in Colombia..

Saying goodbye to Colombia was difficult and I was feeling a bit "nostalgic" for Colombia. I spent the after in Tulcan visiting the Jardine at Cementario. It's beautiful spruce topiaries are out of this world. I also tried to understand Rabindranath Tagore's quotes found in this Jardine and reading families tributes to their loved ones.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Then I ran into a Ecuadorian cellelares tienda owner who suggested I rode to Tufino next day.

So next day I packed up everything and rode bike to Tufino just to get my riding confidence back. It was a beautiful ride along Ecuadorian-Colombian border and I was still longing for Colombia. So endedup official salida Ecuador and ingresso Colombia at Tufino border crossing.

Riding back in Colombia was the best feeling.

Heart 0 Comment 0

So now I had a second chance to visit Colombia and spend more time with my friend, Jesus and his familia.

So I spent one night at Cumbal, Colombia and next day I rode to Ipiales. This time I got to visit Jesus' farm where he's "hand" building a farmhouse as and when he's money,time. So it has taken 3 years but is truly something.

Heart 4 Comment 1
Stephen CarrabinoI’m jealous. Looks like you’re having a great trip.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

After bidding bye to Jesus and his familia a second time I bid adieu to Colombia and re-entered Ecuador for second time. 

Before leaving Ipiales, Jesus gifted me with one of his biking jerseys and then stiched a top-tube maleta para mi bici..

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 894 miles (1,439 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keiko PetroskyI wonder how you’ll be remembered - does Jesus see bike adventures frequently?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Girish HemashettarTo Keiko PetroskyI still talk to Jesus every weekend and I might go visit him/his family before I head back to States..:-)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago