Finishing up the Colombia part of ride (?) - "It keeps getting better" - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2022 to July 28, 2022

Finishing up the Colombia part of ride (?)

I left Pasto planning to ride to Tuqerres, which is the base for Laguna Verde. Sad story of the beautiful Laguna Verde will be written in another entry.

After thinking a lot about not being able to say a proper goodbye to my riding buddies of almost a month now,I decided to skip Laguna Verde and rode directly to San Juan where Jeremy, Brian were spending the night before heading to Ipiales and then crossing border into Ecuador.

Beautiful but another duro ride con mejor valley
Heart 3 Comment 0

Next day we all set out for Ipiales and I ended up riding to Las Lajas thinking others would be there too. A beautiful gothic style cathedral built inside a huge valley.

Las Lajas Santuario
Heart 4 Comment 4
Steve GrimesGoodness, that architecture is amazing. And kinda crazy
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keiko PetroskySo brave Girish! Love how you go on adventures. I’m not brave enough to go out on my own…maybe one day I will go hiking solo, or even with a friend for a while will be sufficient adventure
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Girish HemashettarTo Keiko PetroskyHola Keiko, Fortunately I met some riders/friends to ride with in the beginning and that familiarized me with the local culture, safety issues and such. Now I can bike alone but it's definitely fun with company..:-)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Girish HemashettarTo Steve GrimesHey Steve, yes the Iglesia architectures here in South America are out of this world.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Then I rode up to bid adieu to Jeremy and Brian as they were heading to Tulcan, Ecuador and then to Quito while I had my own adventures waiting. This would be first time I would be on my own still aprendo Espanol..

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 809 miles (1,302 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Steve GrimesI'll be curious to hear why you didn't continue to Ecuador and what adventures you have planned
Reply to this comment
1 year ago