Regatta de Horchata - The Midwest Triangle - 2023 Summer - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2023

Regatta de Horchata

DAY ELEVEN 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Peeking out as the sun rises I see the ghost of a world to be. The fog is thick and gives me sense of privacy as I pack up my tent quickly only to lounge around after. I’m right at the preservation entrance and I’m happy to discover dry concrete, a working water fountain and a clean restroom building all within a short walk.

Heart 1 Comment 0

As the fog burns off I cook coffee and eat strawberry cereal bars. I have my wet clothes from last night laid out but nothing is drying so I pack up, use the restroom and fill my water bottles. I’m craving bananas and apples. 

I’m officially on the Wauponsee Glacial Trail. It’s crushed limestone but fresh and not too hard packed. The constant crunch of my pace on the squishy stone sounding out to the deer that I’m coming sends them bounding into the tree lines.

Heart 3 Comment 0

In the next little town I get my fruit and call the local hardware store to see if they carry my stove fuel. I’m pretty much out and they are totally empty.

I cut off the trail into the backroads of Illinois and enter Elwood where I find my first Rt 66 signage. I’ve been through Chicago, Joliet and now Elwood and the Blues Brothers are on my mind. The scene with Aretha and the toast plays in my mind and I have to hear Respect.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I turn onto Rt 53 and it’s busier than ever. There’s a shoulder for some of it but it’s filled with broken glass, the corpses of truck tires and trash. There’s a workaround coming up that takes me down a gravel road and onto a hiking path. I’m riding the wrong kind of bike for this and all the gear ain’t helping so when I find the way blocked due to a Bison habitat I walk the detour through a grass prairie. The sun is high and at full strength, the land is ripe with native plants and flying insects zip by me creating beautiful little tones on the wind.

Heart 1 Comment 0


 I push up a small steep hill and a dusty dry dirt road takes me a mile and a half down the way before spinning me back onto Rt 53. It’s a short jog and I turn soon enough. I’m along a river somewhere soft pedaling and happy.

Heart 1 Comment 0

In the next gazebo I find electricity, a rare public treat in a town, and I attempt to cook some rice while I charge up. The fuel runs out halfway and I have to dump it. The local hardware store says yes they have my fuel. I describe it in detail, yes yes, that’s what it says and looks like but 2 miles out of my way I discover they are wrong and I leave empty handed. Boo. 

Passing over the Kankakee River I put the past away. I have plenty of other food and as I pass small towns constantly there’s always something if I need to eat.

Riding along these roads I feel a great joy. The wind keeps me cool and the wheels roll pliant and smooth. I like it out here.

I remember to dry the tent and pull into a nature preserve. Snack bars and gatorade, my stuff everywhere momentarily and a restroom break take up my life before I get back to the ride.

I’m talking to Tracy and she is going out for Mexican food. It sounds so delicious that when I get to Dwight I find a place and gorge myself on tacos, rice and beans, and a huge mug of ice cold horchata that may be the best I’ve ever had. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

There’s a small fishing pond on the edge of town that I put my sights on for the night. After few walkers pass through I find a quiet corner and pitch the tent. The earth is lumpy here but it’s dark and quiet and I find myself drifting off to sleep after a great day on the bike.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 407 miles (655 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mike Ayling+1 for The Blues Brothers.
Now I gotta find that dvd I have lying around somewhere.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Further Adventures of JuicyMeltTo Mike AylingYep, and don’t you know it I end up getting two slices of dry white toast in just a couple days from this ride.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago