Nothing Left to do but Smile Smile Smile - The Midwest Triangle - 2023 Summer - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2023

Nothing Left to do but Smile Smile Smile

DAY TWELVE 

Heart 1 Comment 0

I’m up at first light. The path that rings this pond is probably prime for early walkers getting their steps. I don’t want any surprises. The water reflects the morning shades of purple, light green and white as a soft fog meanders across the surface. I have everything packed quickly and soon enough I sit on a bench and eat a cereal bar. I’m out of fuel so I add the via instant to a water bottle and tell myself it’s iced. Even cold the flavor is rich and smooth and I now have permission to grab a hot coffee at the next stop. 

I go to slip my safety vest on and notice a tick on it. I kill it immediately and then start a thorough check of myself. My hands struggle to feel as I softly brush hairlines and warm spots. Even if I find something, will I have the dexterity to pull it off? I have a small pair of pliers so we’ll see. I find nothing and anxiously await the next full size mirror in my path.

At the first station about seven miles away I get that coffee with tons of cream and a BEC biscuit. I sit on the concrete out front and answer questions from the people brave enough to indulge their curiosity. Most look at me and then quick turn their eyes to the ground. Strange. Maybe I have biscuit all over my face? I know I smell good because I’m wearing my favorite sunscreen heavy already. I suppose I look crazy, a nearly 50 year old disabled man sitting on the ground next to a fully loaded bicycle, grinning and joyful.

Pontiac, Illinois comes and goes with a trip to Walmart. I get the big can of gas and a fresh pack of buttwipes. Outside a lady waiting on a bench says she’ll watch my bike until her bus arrives. Her friend shows up on a gas powered bicycle and they begin talking and laughing about old times and new troubles. Neither have any teeth as they smoke vapes and brag about their 30+ year friendship. Some things last, some don’t.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Outside Pontiac I hit the worst stretch of road yet. It’s busy with 18 wheelers as well as the heavy dump haulers and a good chunk of normies in their SUVs and convertables. I feel like everyone except me is going 95mph. The shoulder is a 3” drop to sloppy gravel and completely unridable. I take the lane unless there’s no one coming towards me within eyesight. White knuckles hidden just beneath my cycling gloves. 

11 miles later I’m just off the side of the road with last night’s wet laundry hanging on the short local billboards and cooking at a small picnic shelter. Oh to have fuel again.

From time to time a bike path named the Old Rt 66 trail pops up and then ends again just as suddenly. I steer into headwinds as I enter Normal and cut over to the USPS and the mirror I had general delivery. One $11 gyro later and with hindsight from the new mirror I’m pedaling again.

Heart 1 Comment 0

It’s Ups and Downs finding my way south out of Bloomington and the forecast is now calling for a quick shower in less than an hour. I scoped three spots on google to wild camp. First one is completely surrounded by roads and traffic. Second spot is fenced in with barbed wire and a steep downslope. Third spot is over a super steep hill and across some railroad tracks that I’ll never make with the bike. I’m headed towards the truck stop in the next little town and I say out loud as it occurs to me, I’m serious - I say, out loud, at least it didn’t rain. And so it begins to rain. 

The cops have someone pulled over and traffic is hectic as more reds and blues show up but I get by and shortly find that the McDonald’s in front of me is no mirage. I snap into the forecast and see it is supposed to rain all night. There’s a Wyndham next door and I pull the trigger. 

Normally I get a little hassle about bringing in Fanchon, especially if it’s from the rain but this guy at the front desk gets me a key right quick and then holds both doors open for me, walks me to my room and holds that door for me! I should have tipped him but by the time my shock subsided he was gone.

I went straight to bed and only woke up once. Outside the storm was in full effect with roaring thunderstorms, disco rave lightning and what I’m sure were golf ball sized hailstones. I pulled the covers over my head to trap any sense I may have had left after securing this room. I’m going to need it in the morning.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 482 miles (776 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0