Do You Realize? - The Midwest Triangle - 2023 Summer - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2023

Do You Realize?

DAY THIRTEEN 

Heart 0 Comment 0

I don’t know what I’ve been doing but when I realize it’s 10, I pack up and head out. I’ve got a sweet tooth so I cross the road and grab a Mountain Dew and some Oreos. What the hell, Jeffrey? I come out and see the clouds are now at ground level in the form of a thick rainy mist. This I can handle. I enjoy my treasures while I get into my rain getups. The sugar takes hold of me and I post a reel to Instagram smiling and talking about the key to raincoats and bicycle touring is to never exert yourself. I must have lost my mind even though I tried not to during that storm last night.

Heart 1 Comment 0

The drizzle peters out and the morning is cool with calm winds. Perfect riding weather. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

I pull over to get a picture of a giant man holding a giant hot dog in a giant bun and greet a couple that are riding a yellow Honda Gullwing. I say something goofy about the scene and they both smile at me like they mean it. A short while later I’m on the frontage road and they go by on the highway honking and waving. Something get to me about this and I have this moment of elation. I’m nearly in tears with happiness. It’s the little things sometimes. I pass a smiley face water tower that pops out in front of a cloudy dull sky and all is right.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Miles and miles later I pass through the town of Lincoln and the pendulum swings. The area is very depressed. Tons of tiny box houses are for sale or crumbling. The roads are in disrepair and the buildings look like an 80s zombie apocalypse set. I stopped for a quick picture on my way in but that was it. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

Back on the 66 I have less traffic than I’ve seen in awhile. I also have a tailwind that puts me in a retrospective mood and I get to thinking about the route I am on, it’s history and the poverty that bloomed in its wake. I pull over behind some bushes and cook noodles. I think about the Joads and the young man ditching out on Rosasharn. I think about Tom and leadership what it takes to not beat a man into their grave even as an accident. 

I think that sometimes you’re only welcome so long as you’re invisible and how money talks for you in a crowd. I worry about the future, our future. About what happens when our decline looms closer everyday. What will we choose as the final bits of credit and capital are gobbled down and the people realize we’re all neck deep in this country. Will we see those beside us as neighbors, brothers and friends, or will the bread lines break into chaos as the needy clutch up the edges of our humanity trying to feed their own families. 

I’m getting sunburned when my WS host calls and breaks my pondering. He gives me a better route into Springfield but he speaks fast and I’m trying my best to note the turns. I do just fine and I’m there a little ahead of schedule.

Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like a dogbane leaf beetle. Spectacular colors!

https://bugguide.net/node/view/959903
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Further Adventures of JuicyMeltTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks for the ID. Definitely a colorful little fella!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I want to write about Karl, my host, separately. I liked him that much and his story is deep and interesting.

What I’ll say now is that we cleaned out his fridge and grilled everything. We made potato wedges and corn and ate until we were stuffed. Then we gave the leftovers to his wonderful dog, Beau. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

And then we ate ice cream sandwiches and talked. Beau was happily nested beside us as the night came on and we were all feeling fat and fine. Eventually, Karl showed me the room he has set up for guests and I brushed my teeth and said goodnight. 

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 529 miles (851 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0