T-storms, Tornadoes and Floods, Oh My - Midwest Spring Flings - CycleBlaze

May 24, 2019

T-storms, Tornadoes and Floods, Oh My

It is an understatement to say that the weather this spring has been a bit unfriendly for cyclists.  Cold, wind and rain has been a constant refrain in many journal entries from those touring in Europe.  Here in the US Midwest, cold and wet weather has been a near constant. In Iowa and neighboring states, massive flooding along the Missouri and Mississippi rivers and their tributaries has wreaked havoc on farmland as well as the towns and cities that sit along the river. The unsettled weather has brought a spate of tornadoes, many of them resulting in loss of life.  With that perspective, I can't complain about a cancelled trip on the Katy Trail or a little cold and rain in Northern Minnesota.

Today, as I head for Kansas for the last of my planned Midwest Flings,  I am reminded of the Wizard of Oz.  Just last week I was in Grand Rapids, MN - the hometown of Judy Garland and the Judy Garland museum.  The museum may be most notable as the site from where Dorothy's ruby slippers were stolen some 14 years ago. We had planned to visit the museum on our way out of town, after the ride on the Mesabi Trail. By the time we got back to Grand Rapids, however, we were cold and wet, wanting only a warm meal before heading south to home.  So, I will re-imagine Dorothy's world during my 3 day bike tour of the Flint Hills of Kansas.  I just hope that there are no tornadoes!

Cy, the mascot of the Iowa State University Cylones, waves off rising waters after an overnight thunderstorm dumped 2 inches of rain in Ames
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesWe've been following what's going on in your part of the country. Like Jefferson City MO - weeks of floods, then the tornado sirens in the middle of the night. Just amazing. Stay dry!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Susan CarpenterThanks Kathleen. No WiFi on trip, so just now catching up on journal. Several night storms but I managed to stay dry while riding.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago