Two Wheels to Topeka and Four Wheels Home - Midwest Spring Flings - CycleBlaze

May 27, 2019

Two Wheels to Topeka and Four Wheels Home

Today was back to Topeka and then a drive back home to Iowa. The gym lights were turned on at 5 a.m, encouraging everyone to rise and shine and be on the road before 7 a.m.  Joining the groggy group, I had my gear loaded on the truck by 5:45 and set off with Kitty and her friend Carol in search of coffee and breakfast at a little café up the road. We almost missed it, but Carol spotted blinking bike lights leaning against a small building set back from the highway. We arrived with the first wave of cyclists and I soon had hot coffee, toast and oatmeal.

Morning joe at the Saddlerock Cafe
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn't know that my oatmeal with blueberries would be purple! Tasty, though
Heart 0 Comment 0

The route back down to Topeka was not the same as our way out – primarily following US 56. Although it was a national highway, it was a lightly traveled road and the passing cars usually gave us a wide berth. The day was cool and cloudy, the hills a bit flatter, and the pace more relaxed. We stopped infrequently, and then only for a few minutes at sag stops where I exchanged contract information with new cycling friends. We arrived back at the parking lot a little after 1 pm. I changed of my bike shorts, bid farewell to Kitty and Carol, and set off for the 5 hr ride home.

Overall, the weekend was a big hit. I anticipated that I would enjoy the riding – and I did. I found a certain beauty in the rolling hills and open prairie – not spectacular, but a topography and landscape that was lush and serene. The warmth and generosity of the people I met – the organizers, cyclists and townfolks – elevated the experience, something I almost always find to be true while cycling.

Image not found :(
Carol has done an organized tour in 46 of the 50 US states!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sparse traffic and relaxed pace allowed plenty of time for friendly conversation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Linda and Barb, two volunteer/riders from the Kaw Valley Bicycle Club that sponsored the Cottonwood 200
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back on a great Memorial Day Weekend
Heart 2 Comment 0

Now, I am back in Iowa filling in some details for my next European tour this fall.  In the meantime, I’ll be doing a couple of State bike rides and Hall-of-Fame rail trails. If it warms up and stops raining, it will be a great summer!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 70 miles (113 km)
Total: 338 miles (544 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0