Day 34 - ending at Morton, IL - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

September 6, 2022

Day 34 - ending at Morton, IL

Day 34 - Oglesby, IL to Morton, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

This motel stay worked out well, allowing me to get around in good time after 4:25am, when I got up. With a long day ahead, I decided to postpone finishing/posting yesterday's report, and get going. At 5:10am, I walked over to nearby "Cindy's on 39" for breakfast. Then over to nearby BP for Gatorade. All set and on my way at 7:18am.

Wind was from the northeast this morning - just what I need for my south and west route. At 7:55am I entered Tonica from the north on IL-251. Off highways and on county roads, for the most part, is the plan to get the rest of the way home.

I was moving right along on this overcast morning. Crossed IL-18 on LaSalle County E 3rd Road at 9:11am, and IL-17 on Marshall County CR-2500E at 10:11am. Went through Pattonsburg at 11:06am, and stopped at noon along Woodford County CR-1700N. 39.2 miles had flown by then, thanks to the tailwind! Ate a granola bar, and took a selfie for the last day of this trip. The sun had just come out from behind the clouds. It's a beautiful day to be heading home!

At 12:51pm, I crossed IL-116 on Woodford County CR-1600E. Next, turn west on Church Road, which brought me to IL-117 on the north side of Eureka. Into town on IL-117 up to the courthouse block. There are businesses across the street, and I stopped at a new one for me: Mauries Sugar Shoppe. Mauries had been a candy store in Pekin when I was growing up. A visit there was a special treat. This is a new location (and ownership) for the business now, and is connected with the Association for the Developmentally Disabled of Woodford County (ADDWC). I went in to look around. The sign from the Pekin store is here. And, they sell slushies! I bought a cherry slushie for enjoying outside, and candy for taking home.

At 2:15pm I headed on south on IL-117 to Burton Street for my back-way to the trail through Eureka Lake Park. Then on west on Lake Road to Woodford County CR-1200E. I was following my favorite route from Eureka to Morton: Irish Lane, Washington Road, Lakeland Road and Tennessee Avenue.

I've ridden between Eureka and Morton many times, and I don't remember it ever taking this long. I'm sure it wasn't any longer, just anticipation getting in the way. Crossed into my home county (Tazewell) at 3:21pm. At 4:09pm, I took a break at one of my favorite break spots - under the oak tree at the northwest end of Hillcrest Memorial Gardens.

OK, let's get home. I forgot how busy Tennessee Avenue can be this time of day, so was on and off the road as I went. Finally made it to Jackson Street in Morton, and coasted into our driveway at 5:05pm. I'm home!

My wife wasn't home, however, and I didn't expect her until later. That's OK, I had work to do. I unpacked the bike, set up the tent to dry, and hung up the still-somewhat-wet rain gear. Then I got right to work on our air conditioner, which had quit working again, and my wife wasn't able to get it going this time. The condenser fan motor bearings needed oil, which requires fan motor disassembly. The bearings are in worn condition, but oiling helped - for a while. Indoor temperature dropped from 83F to 81F before the unit tripped again. Time to get out the window fan.

One last task before a shower and bed - take a Covid test. The last few days I'd been feeling like I had a cold (or Covid?), so had limited my interactions with others. My test result indicates I just have a cold, but still, I'm staying away from others, to not share this.

To bed at 9:30pm. With insect sounds coming in through the open windows, it's sort of like I'm in my tent, still on the journey.

Jeff

Spent: $21.43 plus $7 (breakfast) + $4.28 (Gatorade) + $1.97 plus $5 (Slushy) = $39.68.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNice photo of the morning glory.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
I like morning glories, even though they are just a weed.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Yes, but not for long.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 1,343 miles (2,161 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesAnother great tour in the books. Great fun to see the Midwest from the local roads. And biggest noon mileage (ever?) on the last day - well done.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
You were with me to the very end with your daily [unanswered] comment(s) entries. What a gift to me!
Thank you.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago