Day 14 - ending near Lakeview, OH - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2022

Day 14 - ending near Lakeview, OH

Day 14 - Troy, OH to Lakeview, OH
Heart 0 Comment 0

My night at the motel here in Troy worked out OK, but I am concerned that the tent was packed away wet two days ago. Anyway, if all goes well, I'll be setting it up tonight at Indian Lake State Park near Lakeview, Ohio.

Up at 5:35am, then I walked over to Lincoln Square Family Restaurant next door for breakfast - their Meat Lover's Omelette. Checked out of the motel at 8:06am, then stopped at a BP station for Gatorade. Headed back east and north to get back to the Great Miami River Trail. Main Street has construction going on, so I decided to get off Ridge Avenue and onto the sidewalk after the intersection. My rear tire missed the sidewalk, which has a drop-off, and I fell over with the bike on top of me. I got up as quickly as I could, but not soon enough for a driver on Main to ask if I was OK. I was OK, except for a scraped knee. Since blood was soaking through my pants, I decided to put a bandaid on my knee. After that, back to riding. It really was just a scraped knee, thankfully.

At 8:53am, I was back on-trail. Made it out of Troy. Eldean ahead has a covered bridge, and I was there at 9:18am. Next sight I wanted to see was the decommissioned nuclear power plant in Piqua. The trail runs right by it. I'd read while planning this trip that this was Ohio's first nuclear plant, built in the 1960s, and designed to be just big enough to power the city. It did run for a few years. Later the containment building was used to store township trucks. At one point along the trail I came to a sign with a light saying the trail was closed ahead. But the light was off, so I thought maybe the trail isn't closed right now. Well, the trail was closed near to the former power plant. However, I did get a picture through the fence, and then backtracked to get on a road route to Piqua.

In Piqua, I was looking to leave the Great Miami River Trail near its end and get on a short section of the Ohio to Indiana Trail. Having come into town by road detour, I was confused where to connect with the trail. Then, when I thought I was in the correct spot, there was another "Trail Closed" sign.

Anyway, my on-purpose road riding started at 11:10am, heading for the Troy-Sidney Road to go north.

I was at the Miami-Shelby County Line when noon arrived. 19.8 miles so far.

At 12:52pm I connected up with the Miami Erie Canal Feeder Trail south of Sidney. Its end was at a cemetery in Sidney. Just beyond the cemetery is the Big Four Bridge, which allows trains to pass way up high over Sidney's South Main Street.

I made it through Sidney with only one missed turn, and was on Sidney-Freyburg Road heading north at 2:12pm. Again, a surprisingly lot of road traffic on another no-shoulder road. At 2:25pm, I needed to pull over for cars meeting from both directions where I was. There was a driveway ahead, but I didn't quite clear the drop-off to it, and the bike fell over. This time however, I jumped clear, landing on my feet. I think I impressed the lady who had been going slowly behind me. I was impressed myself. It wasn't until after 3:00pm when traffic lessened to the point where I felt I was in the country. Before that, a crop sprayer plane made a dive run at me. The picture would have been awesome, except I was busy at the time staying out of the way of a semi-truck passing me.

Later afternoon riding was pleasant. I was 'stair-stepping' my way north and east. I took a break at a guard rail at 3:10pm. Nineteen miles left. Passed Jackson Center at 4:10pm, and crossed into Logan County at 4:26pm. At 5:16pm, I got on Logan County 87 for the last leg east. Made it to the park entrance at 6:08pm. The gatehouse attendant directed me to the camp store for check-in. After paying for the campsite and buying a few items for supper, I made it to site C8 at 6:35pm. After getting set up, I rode back to the camp store for a bundle of firewood. I'm staying here two nights to catch up on reports, but I'll squeeze in time for a campfire also.

I've included two pictures of supper. The first is what I was going to have, and the second is what I did have, thanks to a nearby camper who offered me leftovers from their dinner. So kind!

After supper I enjoyed my campfire. What a fun evening.

Jeff

Spent: $16.65 plus $5 (breakfast) + $4.69 (Gatorade) + $29 (campsite) + $6.29 (snacks) + $5 ( firewood) = $66.63.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Mike AylingThe fence reinforces the message!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
Not that I'd try to get past the fence, but they definitely had it so no one could.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 567 miles (912 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesYour gymnastics earn extra points today. You stuck one landing and get the Purple Wheel Medal for your scraped knee on the other landing. And shades of that movie North by Northwest and the deadly crop duster chase!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thanks for the gymnastics ratings and awards.
I kind of wish the crop duster hadn't buzzed me. I felt droplets land on my face shortly after he passed.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago