Valence to Lyon - Melo Vélo Meanderings - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2018 to July 3, 2018

Valence to Lyon

This will be a short entry, as there is not much to report and I took few pictures.  When Carolyn decided to join me for a couple of weeks on the tour, she chose the Bordeaux to Lyon stretch in part due to the convenience of getting to and from Paris with her bike.  I had originally thought we would be in Lyon by June 30, but she had left some wiggle room in scheduling the return flight from Paris to accommodate delays - if early, she could spend more time in Lyon and/or Paris.  As it turned out, we decided to spend more time in Provence and to shorten the distance ridden during the high heat spell. These choices led to relying on a train trip to Lyon in order to get Carolyn in Paris tonight.  We caught an early train from Valence to Lyon then waited around at one of the many station cafes until time for Carolyn's departure neared.  After hugs and farewells, she was off and I was on my way to the Marriott where I had booked a two night stay.

Temperatures were approaching 100°F, and I arrived at the hotel dripping with sweat.  Luckily, my room was ready and I was soon cool, a bit refreshed, but tired. I didn't leave the room until the next day, ordering room service for both lunch and dinner!  I rested, did laundry, caught up on the news and the journal, and rested some more.  My desire to explore the sights and food of Lyon had waned, and I all I really wanted to do was just veg out.  And that I did.  

The next morning, I went out to get a replacement for the handlebar end stopper that I had lost. Another great encounter with the French bike shop culture - no charge and compliments for Vivien George. I got some electrolyte tablets, a haircut and meandered through the Parc de la Téte d'Or where I visited some zoo exhibits and grabbed a bite to eat.  Then it was back to the Marriott for more rest, relaxation and room service.  I think I'm ready to bike again.

Today's ride: 14 miles (23 km)
Total: 1,131 miles (1,820 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesBased on our experience with the Via Rhona out of Lyon this spring may we offer a piece of advice? Take the train. You were wise to train from Valence in, and frankly we would suggest a train north to near Macon as a really good option, especially if the heat continues. After Macon there are two good options on either side of the Rhone. We rode the western route through Cluny, but have heard that there is a nice greenway on the eastern bank. Bon courage. Steve and Dodie Miller, the Grampies
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Susan CarpenterSteve
Thanks for all your advice/comments during the trip - it helped me decide to take the train to Macon, which was a great decision!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago