Home to Paray le Monial: Mostly flat and boring with one big bump - Massif Summer - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2014

Home to Paray le Monial: Mostly flat and boring with one big bump

Today was supposed to be a getaway-by-train day, but the railway is on strike, so I rode alongside the tracks from home to Paray le Monial. The route follows eurovelo 6 most of the way, which is based on canal paths. So it's flat most of the time, with small manageable bumps beside the canal locks. The scenery is nice, but nothing special. Canal on one side, with occasional glimpses of the railway on the other. But eurovelo 6 isn't quite finished is it? There's a missing section from St. Leger to St. Julien, and the road that follows the canal in that section is crammed with heavy trucks going 90 kph. There is an alternative route, and it's even signposted, but my guess is that it was designed for super-fit racer boy types on carbon fiber dream bikes out for a little climbing practice. In places the gradient tops 12 percent! I got to St. Leger about 11:45, and thought I would continue to the next town for lunch. I didn't see a restaurant until almost 2:00, and it was in the early stages of closing. But the owner took pity on me and fixed a HUGE ham sandwich for me. Thick slices of ham, pickles, and lettuce on a well buttered half of a large size baguette. I ate it in about five minutes.

Past Montceau les Mines the signed route zigs and zags so every small village is connected to the trail. But I followed the road right next to the canal, which was quiet, reasonably well paved and shorter. I got to Paray before five, and found the campground with no problem. Pizza for dinner, and early to bed.

I got away early this morning not by choice, but because the neighbor's cat woke me up. He often comes right into our house as he did this morning. He's very sociable, and when his owners leave for work, he comes to our house and demands attention. I blame Sue for this. He used to just drink water from the birdbath, but she sets out a bowl for him. Now he likes to be in my lap when it's cold, and have his fur brushed when it's hot. But meowing in my ear at 6:00 in the morning needs to stop.

Another way to follow the canal.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The roamanesque basilica in Paray le Monial.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 147 km (91 miles)
Total: 147 km (91 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0