Montbrison to Firminy: Coasting to completion - Massif Summer - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2014

Montbrison to Firminy: Coasting to completion

The weather has changed today. Not necessarily for the worst, but summer heat is definitely on the way. And it just so happens that today is the first official day of summer. I climbed into the hills this morning on my way to St.Bonnet le Chateau. The road out of Montbrison was moderately busy for 8:00 on a Saturday, but not so much that it made me nervous. Summer means that convoys of old vehicles take to the roads and as I struggled up the five and six percent grades I was passed by old Citroens, old Porsches, and old motorcycles traveling in groups. No pictures possible given the grade and the difference in speed between the motors and me, and you'll have to take my word for it about the gasoline smell the old cars left behind. I got to St. Bonnet about eleven, and visited the town briefly. It had to be brief as there was no parking for bicycles in the main square, and the streets are all cobblestones. These are charming as long as one doesn't have to ride a bike on them. Then the cobbles become treacherous obstacles, just waiting to see you to ground.

I turned the bike east, and made the descent to the gorges of the Loire at Chambles, punctuated by a few short steep hills, of course. The gorges are quite a change from the rest of the Loire. It's much more a mountain stream here. Various dams hold it back to provide water to the cities of this region, belying the propaganda about the Loire being the last wild river of France. From Chambles to Firminy the road descends into the gorge for eleven glorious kilometers. I coasted almost all the way in tree shaded cool. Just as you reach Unieux, the road widens into an industrial park, with bike lanes provided most of the remaining kilometers into Firminy.

It was clear I needed a rest day, the mountains had tired me out. I felt fit and strong, but I was due for a couple of days off to regain energy. Firminy is close to, and indeed part of the industrial zone that extends from Lyon to St.Etienne. Not exactly what I had in mind for rest and relaxation. A check at the railway station told me I could get home via the trains despite the national rail strike. So I decided to call it a day. One bus and three trains later, and I was home in time for a late supper. And so I started the summer in the Massif, but spent the first summer night in my own bed. Now it's time to catch up on chores, and start planning the next tour.

St. Benoit le Chateau from below
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gorges of the Loire near Firminy
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gorgeous gorges...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Apres le effort, le reconfort. After the effort, the reward.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 462 km (287 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0