about this journal: ice cream vs. frozen yogurt - The Rolling Mardi Gras - CycleBlaze

about this journal: ice cream vs. frozen yogurt

At some point in their bicycling career, almost every cyclist has heard these words:

"Have you ever heard of RAGBRAI?"

I first heard the question thirty years ago when I was living in Houston, almost a thousand miles from the event. After moving to Iowa, I felt compelled to do it at least once just to see what the hullabaloo is all about. 

Unlike 99% of the other riders, I carried my gear with me, so I still consider it a "tour."

I'm glad I completed it, at least once. Perhaps after I retire and have more time I'll do it again. I definitely enjoyed it, but it's quite a different flavor of riding than a regular tour. I compare it to eating ice cream vs frozen yogurt. Both are enjoyable on a hot day, but I prefer ice cream over frozen yogurt, while others might prefer yogurt over ice cream. 

For me, part of the enjoyment of a tour is getting away from the hustle and bustle. Riding with 12,000 other people makes that somewhat difficult. 

Having said that, if you want to know what it's like I suggest you keep reading. 

This will be a very fast journal. As opposed to my 1982 journal, which has very few pictures and a lot of words, this one has very few words and a lot of pictures. You'll blow through it quickly, and yet I think you'll still get a sense of what it's like. 

And...  the next time someone asks you if you've ever done RAGBRAI, feel free to share some stories with them.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0