What to Bring, What to Bring: Don't bring the kitchen sink! - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

February 26, 2015

What to Bring, What to Bring: Don't bring the kitchen sink!

THIS is a page everyone can skip unless you are considering replacing me on this trip. I bring along what I want to bring even if some think me a wee tad silly. Yes, I like a radio at night. A Kobo to read a number of books as is my wont when I tour. A stack of paper to write to my heart's content.

This list is carried from one trip to the next and is refined with such precision you could part the hairs of... well, someone with hair that needs parting.

Other than that, this list is a work-in-progress to organize my own thoughts. So move along.

Packing List:

-BIKE & CYCLING GEAR- Raleigh Olympian (1985 vintage) touring bike with fenders and rear rack, Arkel EXR rear panniers, Arkel rack bag, mirror, spare spokes, spoke wrench, spare tubes, patch kit, tire iron, phillips/slot screwdriver, allen keys, swiss army knife, adjustable wrench, duct tape, lube, Canadian flag and whip pole, chain tool, pliers, milk bags/courier bags/Y&S bags to pre-wrap items in panniers

-CLOTHING- cycling shorts, LS cycling jersey, cycling jacket, light weight fleece, cycling shoes, helmet, cycling gloves, socks(2 pair), undergarments(2 pair), dark long pants, dark t-shirt, ball cap, sunglasses & case

-TOILETRIES- toothpaste, toothbrush, soap & case, shampoo, razors, towel, clothesline cord, deodorant, nail clippers

-MISCELLANEOUS- pens, notebook, guidebooks, compass, gps, maps, address book, camera, SD card & charger, AA batteries and charger, passport, ATM card, watch, keyrings to secure pack zippers, zip ties, latex gloves, lexan spoon, knife, fork, Kobo

-FIRST AID KIT- bandaids, tape, gauze pads, aspirin/tylenol, anti-biotic cream, anti-nausea medication, gravol, hand sanitizer

** Items Forgotten on Last Journey **

Umbrella - especially if I have been on the bike in the rain, I don't want to wander about afterwards unprotected

Backpack - Again, in wandering about, it is nice to be able to carry things as a daypack

Whistle/Bell - Essential on bike paths and through bike-friendly areas to warn slower traffic of your approach

Of course, being a bicycle tour, one of the items on the list is an actual bicycle!What we have here is my 1985 Raleigh Olympian. Its value in dollars/euro? Almost nothing. Its sentimental value? Priceless. I rode this bike on my inaugural tour of the UK in 1986, it accompanied me from Istanbul to Lisbon in 2003, has been on several other tours, and will be with me again this year in Iberia.- near Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0