Sunday, April 12 - Evora to Montemor-o-Novo: A softly-lit beautiful morning ride - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 12, 2015

Sunday, April 12 - Evora to Montemor-o-Novo: A softly-lit beautiful morning ride

THE kind of day that I remember forever, it was so beautiful. And everything came together.

With no breakfast included, I knew I would be on my way early. With the young guys in the next room screaming as they returned at 5 am, I was up earlier than expected.

I had the bike loaded shortly after 7 am so headed out and down the cobblestones, through the old walls, and away from town. Dewy fields, soft sunrise morning light, cool air and the smell of nature that I smell at home when I do early morning rides there. Fresh and beautiful.

Photos were numerous as the light filtered through the plane trees lining the road, the breeze gently increased at my back, and the majority of the road seemed to be downhill. After almost two weeks am I finally into a groove? Do I now belong on the road for longer than planned? If every day was like today I could ride forever. Alas, after today there are only two real days of cycling to go.

Only a short day so I can rest up for tomorrow, I was quickly at the 15 km point. Then 10 km to go. Then 3 km to go. Then the town sign and the castle off to my left on the hill. Ahhhh ... Portugal! I was in such awe of the day that I missed my hotel on the first time past. I had to pull out my tablet with the map and sure enough I had ridden right past. I zipped up the stairs to reception who said my room was not ready. No problem, time to write. Shortly another receptionist came out and said they had a different room and I could have it right away. Awesome.

Hot bath soak later I headed out for a mixed meat, potato, salad and vinho tinto lunch. The wine had a slight homemade taste, but it still passed the 'test'. A carbon copy of other towns, there were many shuttered homes and businesses, yet the hike up to the castle was great with amazing views of the whole area. Many APs once again.

In the words of a young Jedi, "You are doing well, my young apprentice." And, "I'm so cute I don't have to wait my turn." Actual lines from a nine-year-old future cyclist, Alexander Irvine.

Back at the hotel, I shall see what the rest of the day has in store for this young apprentice.

Well. Ladies and gentlemen. Boys and girls. Introducing, Camryn Rae Chatelain, aka Little Chicken, air cadet, accepted to the Basic Aviation Technology and Aerospace course in Trenton, ON, July 2015. Congratulations!!!

The patio at my hotel
- Montemor-o-Novo, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
The patio at my hotel
- Montemor-o-Novo, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
The patio at my hotel
- Montemor-o-Novo, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0

Hotel Montemor €54 (More than my average but everything else was full.)

Today's ride: 31 km (19 miles)
Total: 498 km (309 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0